reviews

Review: Le Petit Society’s 100% GOTS organic swaddles

When Robyn, the boss-lady of Le Petit Society (LPS) dropped me a note to ask if we’d like to review their latest product offering, we said yes pretty much immediately. We are already (paying) customers of LPS and have always been a fan of their clothing so it was a no-brainer saying yes.

We had the opportunity to try LPS’s new muslin swaddles when Robyn and her crew came by to film the twins. The swaddles are made from 100% GOTS*-certified organic cotton which are chemical-free and especially suited for babies with allergies and/or sensitive skin. The prints are made from dyes that are formaldehyde-free.

IMG_9817

With Elliott and the twins, we used the usual swaddles that you find on the market. Even though they were soft to begin with, they will usually end up being rough with each wash. I got a couple of hand-me-downs for the twins and even though they were in good condition, they weren’t soft to the touch despite us using baby-safe laundry. Also, despite being “muslin”, I had to stop swaddling the twins because it was too hot to do so in our sweltering heat.

Before the shoot, I was a tad apprehensive because we all know working with babies (and animals) is challenging. Also, I wasn’t how they’d react to the swaddles since I haven’t swaddled them for a while. However, as you can see in this video, it turned out to be a very pleasant experience for the 2 little ones. Check out that sweet smile on Edith’s face after she was nicely swaddled. That was a lovely surprise.

These swaddles feel very different from the usual ones. They are extremely soft to the touch, and a lot lighter. I find it easier to swaddle the babies as the material is light and slightly stretchy. See how expert I look in the video above? šŸ˜‰

I can also see how they are more suited for our (crazy hot) weather. I have to confess that since we were given the 4 new swaddles, I’ve pretty much ditched using the old ones. Each swaddle measures 120 cm by 120 cm, similar in size to the ones currently on the market. Being made of lightweight cotton also means that these swaddles dry pretty quickly!

IMG_9770-001

Even when not using them as swaddles, I use them as day blankets to cover their legs when they nap in their rockers, or when we take them out to the nearby park in the stroller.

IMG_0078.JPG

I think they’d make a good nursing cover too, if you ever find yourself having to nurse in public and without a cover.

IMG_6760.jpg

Special deal:

Le Petit Society is offering a 10% discount off for all readers of miss ene and the boy. Use the code “MISSENE” at checkout and you get 10% off swaddle products, including the bundle deals. Why buy 1 when you can buy 4 at $80 (usual price $28 for 1)? We can’t wash them fast enough around here!

This discount code is valid from today 1 August till end August. Shipping is free for purchases above S$100 or you can pick up at their shop at Downtown Gallery (6 Shenton Way).

LPS-Setof4-Organic-Muslin-Swaddle-(Hi-Res).jpg

Be warned though – if you’re anything like me, you will probably end up buying even more stuff when you step into their beautiful retail space. Don’t say I never warn you hor.

*GOTS – The Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) is the worldwide leading textile processing standard for organic fibres, including ecological and social criteria, backed up by independent certification of the entire textile supply chain.

Disclaimer: We were given the awesome LPS swaddles in exchange for the photoshoot and blog post. All views and opinions expressed in this entry are my own. Then agani, I don’t share/blog about stuff that I won’t use on my own, or for my babies. 

Leave a Reply

