cooking

miss ene cooks: Kung Pao Chicken

I’ve loved Kung Pao Chicken since I was 8 years old. I also call it “Diced chicken with dried red chilli”. If it’s on the menu, I will order it. That’s how much I love the dish. I saw that The MeatMen had a recipe for it so decided to try it for myself.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here’s the recipe and my own notes in italics and pink:

Kung Pao Chicken
Servings: 4 |Β Time: 25 min | Skill: Easy

Ingredients

  • 3 boneless chicken thighs (cut into 3cm chunks)
  • 15 dried chillies (seeds removed)
  • 1 tbsp black peppercorns / Sichuan peppercorns (I left this out as I don’t have any!)
  • 4 stalks of spring onions (cut into 5cm)
  • 3 cloves garlic (sliced)
  • 1 tbsp of ginger (chopped)
  • 5 cm knob of ginger (sliced)
  • 2 chilli padis (I only use 1 as I can’t deal with too much spice)
  • 5 tbsp oil
  • 1 tbsp dark soy sauce

Marinade (for the chicken thighs)

  • 1 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp chinese rice wine (I use hua diao jiu)
  • Β½ tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cornstarch

Sauce (mix well and set aside)

  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar (I use the one from Narcissus – from any supermarket)
  • 1 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • Mix well and set aside

Instructions

  1. Marinade chicken thighs for at least 30 minutes.
  2. tbsp sugar,
  3. Add 1 tbsp black peppercorns / sichuan peppercorns to a wok heated with 3 tbsp oil; Fry until fragrant and remove peppercorns (I left out this step)
  4. Add dried chillies, stir fry until colour darken
  5. Add sliced garlic, 1 tbsp of chopped ginger and β…“ of the spring onions
  6. Stir fry until fragrant
  7. Add sauce mixture and cook for 2 mins
  8. Transfer to bowl and set aside
  9. Add 2 tbsp oil to wok
  10. Add sliced ginger, chili padis and rest of the spring onions (leave a small handful aside for garnish)
  11. Stir fry until fragrant
  12. Add chicken thighs
  13. Once chicken is almost cooked, add kung pao sauce
  14. Add 1 tbsp dark soy sauce cook for another min
  15. Serve and garnish with spring onions
Leave a Reply

