elliott

Review: Lollababy Nasal Aspirator

Note: This is not a sponsored post. Also, this post talks about snot so if you’re squeamish about such stuff, consider this a warning!

I can’t remember how I came across the Lollababy Nasal Aspirator. Must have been one of those idle-surfing moments. It was selling at one of the baby fairs for $79 at a special promotional launch price and after a quick chat with the sales staff, I got one. Previously, we used  the Nose Frida whenever Elliott has a stuffy nose but he HATES it. He will struggle and fight, and it’d take 2 adults (me and the boy) to pin him down just to use it on him. Also, I did not like that I have to suck on the mouthpiece to get the snot out. Washing the Nose Frida also involved many parts.

IMG_6633

Last month, E had a snotty nose again. Think thick yellow snot and it was bothering him. I took out the Lollababy and used it on him. Amazingly, he thought that it was the funniest thing ever and kept giggling. He even asked me to keep using it again and again (!!). Honestly, I have NEVER seen him enjoy getting his nose cleaned this much.

I managed to clear both his blocked nostrils properly and when I removed the silicon cap to wash, there was a collection of thick snot. As strange as it sounds (especially to non-parents), it felt really good to see all that gross snot.  Also, it is really easy to clean. We simply remove the silicon tip (it comes in 2 sizes, a smaller one for newborns and a larger one for toddlers) and the plastic attachment and rinse it with water and soap.

IMG_6644

E has since learnt that this little contraption helps him in clearing his nose and would even ask to use it (never happened with the Nose Frida). We use it together with the Sterimar Sea Spray, i.e. we spray both nostrils before using the Lollababy to clear out his blocked nose. It’s really easy to use and in fact, he can use it on his own. I usually clear his nose properly before letting him have a go.

IMG_6636

As mentioned above, this is not a sponsored post. I paid for the product and found it useful so I’m blogging about it to help other parents who have to deal with snotty noses (and we all know this is a common occurrence with little people).

Leave a Reply

