cooking · food glorious food

miss ene cooks: Baked sesame chicken wings

I spotted this recipe on Facebook shared by a friend and I thought it looked easy enough. Best of all, the chicken wings do not need frying – the oven does all the work!

Here’s the recipe complete with video. I am repeating the recipe here so that the next time I intend to make this dish again, I can simply refer to this blog entry. My own notes are in italics.

Baked sesame chicken wings

Ingredients for chicken wings:

  • 10 single chicken wings (I got those with wing tip on)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • 1 Tbs. baking powder (this is important as it makes the skin crispy, like Korean fried chicken!)

To prepare the sesame sauce:

  • 2 Tbs. sesame oil
  • 1 tsp. chopped garlic (1 clove garlic)
  • 1 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 2 Tbs. honey
  • 1 Tbs. sesame seeds (you can omit this if you don’t have any)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 230 degrees (450Β°F).
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine all ingredients for the chicken. Toss chicken wings to coat evenly. Place on a parchment paper or a cookie rack lined baking sheet with at least 1/2-inch a part from each others. (I placed them on ‘cooking paper’ I got from Daiso).
  3. Bake 15 minutes and flip over, back another 18 to 20 minutes or until chicken is fully cooked.
  4. While the chicken is cooking, prepare the sesame sauce.
  5. In a medium side pot, add all ingredients for the sesame sauce except sesame seeds. Turn the heat to medium and bring the sauce to a boil. Reduce heat to low and very gentle simmer the sauce for 10 minutes. (I did not realise that the recipe came with text so I did not manage to simmer the sauce for 10 minutes – important to allow the sauce to thicken!)
  6. When the chicken wings come out from oven, add into sauce along with sesame seeds. Toss chicken wings to coat evenly with the sauce. Serve immediately and enjoy!

IMG_3571

My wings did not turn out how it looked in the video but it tasted pretty good! The skin was crispy and even though my sauce did not thicken up enough, it was still pretty decent.

The boy and I polished off 10 wings and couldn’t eat anymore. I made a side of ABC Soup and sunny side ups to complete the meal and it was satisfying. Not the most healthy but hey, it was YUMS.

IMG_3570

These are the only pictures I have of the meal I whipped up because I was starving and just wanted to EAT. Hur hur.

2 thoughts on “miss ene cooks: Baked sesame chicken wings

  1. I found out that removing as much fat from the wings while cooking is what gives the most crispy skin. Try steaming the wings for 10 mins and pat dry them before seasoning and baking to remove fat. This also makes ur kitchen less smokey.
    Also, you should give the cookie tack lined baking sheet a try, it helps to let the fat drain.

Leave a Reply

