me myself and i · school talk

10 years.

Today marks my 10th year as an educator. TEN YEARS. Wow, it’s been a while, hasn’t it? I still clearly remember the very first time I had to give a lecture to 200+ students who had no clue that I was this newbie. I was shaking inside but had to put up a brave front and present the lecture like I do it all the time.

Ten years later, I still get nervous at first lectures but I don’t shake like a leaf anymore. Being in this job for 10 years also mean that I have surpassed my previous work record of 8 years.

I started this job as a single, unmarried woman. Through the years, my colleagues attended my wedding and shared in the joy of our firstborn. Today, I am a married with a child.

People say that time flies when you are having fun and for that, I really do have to thank my lovely colleagues that I work with. Without them, I honestly don’t think I would have lasted *this* long.Β These days, my Facebook feed is filled with my ex-students getting proposed to, getting married and becoming parents themselves. It is hard not to feel old but at the same time, I am glad to have crossed their paths at the confused teenage stage of their lives.

Happy 10 (work) years to me and I do hope that the marking machine that I have been praying for since like, forever, will be invented very very soon.

me

Leave a Reply

