elliott · family · me myself and i · moments · thoughts

The year that flew by.

To say that 2015 flew by in a flash is a bit of an understatement. Wasn’t it just yesterday that we said goodbye to 2014 and ushered in 2015? How did we get to 2016 already?! If 2014 was a year of change, 2015 would be the year of learning.

We learnt the names of strange diseases we never heard of before we became parents, like this strange thing called croup and bronchiolities. I also learnt, first-hand, that even when you are unwell yourself, you will still have to be there to provide comfort for your sick child.

We learnt to never ever judge the parent of that crying child(ren) on board airplanes when we took Elliott on his first ever flight to Sydney. This year also saw us (sans baby) travelling to Hong Kong at the start of the year and we closed 2015 with a family holiday with the in-laws to Bangkok and a school trip to Vietnam.

We also learnt that throwing a party for little people is Mayhem with a capital M. Elliott turned 1 year old in March and I was just thankful that I had the help of many talented friends who put the lovely party together. I also learnt that it is important to pay for an official photographer who will capture wonderful moments from the party because the parents (us) will be running around like chickens without heads, trying to say Hello and Thank You to everyone who came by.

2015 was also the year that saw Elliott celebrate his very first Chinese New Year. We learnt that it is near impossible to take a good family shot together because at any one point, someone (meaning: Moon or Elliott) will be looking somewhere else.

In the second half of the year, Moon turned 8 years old and I learnt that despite the many changes that happened in the household (new baby, new home), Moon has remained patient and tolerant towards us. She has never shown aggression despite us spending a lot less time with her these days.

She’s not perfect, of course. She has suddenly developed this weird habit of whining outside our bedroom door at 6.30am (!) and it drives me mad. But I try and remember that she will not be around forever and that she is getting older day by day. I decided that 2015 will be the year where we do a proper photoshoot for Moon so that I don’t end up regretting not taking photos of her running when one day, she may no longer be able to do so.

I also learnt not to underestimate my child’s ability to stay quiet for 2.5 hours for a human circus show. That’s the amazing thing about parenthood. We usually end up eating our own words over and over again.

I started writing my “Note to Elliott” series each month, from the day he was born. I am proud to say that I have yet to miss a single month but I have learnt that as life gets busier, it may not be that easy to continue writing those notes. He is turning 2 years old soon (ALREADY!) and I am not sure how long I will continue with my monthly notes. Perhaps I should put that down as my New Year’s resolution – to keep writing those notes.

Last but not least, I learnt that life throws you curveballs when you least expect them and all you can do is to grab them by the horns and go with the flow. I wrote on our Facebook page that it has been a crazy December and it truly has been.

In the span of one week, we mourned the loss of the boy’s grandmother (on a Sunday) and celebrated the wedding of my sister and our new brother-in-law (the following Saturday). Coincidentally, my beloved grandmother passed away on the exact same day as the boy’s grandmother 3 years ago.

It was just…crazy.

This year’s New Year’s Eve is spent in the same way as the last – at home. Well ok, we did attend a BBQ but it rained out and because the little man refused his afternoon nap, he passed out at 9pm.

So once again, when the clock struck midnight and the night sky lit up with fireworks, I had my miracle child snuggled against my chest, fast asleep. I watched the fireworks from our bedroom window and tears welled up in my eyes.

Grateful, thankful tears, they were.

I learnt that no matter what 2016 brings, we are together as a family and that is what matters most. From our family to you and yours, Happy New Year and as always, I wish you happiness and good health.

This beautiful rainbow (a double one!) appeared for a brief moment and disappeared. I like to take it as a good sign that 2016 will be an amazing one.

 

Leave a Reply

