cooking

miss ene cooks: 滷肉飯 Lu Rou Fan

I spotted this recipe for 滷肉飯 on Facebook and after a quick glance at the recipe, I decided to make it because it looked easy and (almost) fail-proof. I am not a naturally good cook or baker. I just enjoy cooking and baking for my loved ones who are my guinea pigs and more often than not, the food I make do not turn out particularly nice.

My mum makes a mean version of it and I was hoping to at least try and replicate it at my own home.

滷肉飯 or Braised Pork Rice is a traditionally Taiwanese dish. I love anything braised. Like, MAJOR LOVE. So yes, I tried making it and it turned out pretty darn yummy! I am used to the version with minced pork but this recipe called for shoulder butt.

lrf

Here is the recipe from Bearnakedfood with my own notes in italics so you don’t make the same mistakes 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 17 oz (500 g) shoulder butt – cut into about 1 cm small cubes
  • 2 tbsp dried shrimps – soaked for 30 mins and chopped
  • 1/4 cup (50 ml) good quality light soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup (50 ml) rice wine (I used Shao Xing Hua Tiao)
  • 4 tbsp fried shallots (I used the ones that my MIL fried – HEAVENLY!)
  • 2 tbsp fried minced garlic (store-bought ones that come in a small tub)
  • 2 star anise
  • A pinch of five spice powder (do not overdo this. Literally, a pinch!)
  • 1 piece of medium size rock sugar (I used a piece that was about 6cm across but it’s too large so use a smaller piece – mine turned out a tad sweet)
  • Some hot water

To serve:
Steam rice
Hard boiled eggs (prepare this beforehand as it needs to be soaked)
Green leafy vegetable (I used cai xin)

The recipe states that it serves 6-8 but erm, the boy and I ate it all up, save for a tiny bit that I saved for the next night.

Method:

  1. In a large pan or wok (I used my Le Creuset pot), add in the diced pork and cook for about 10 mins, until the liquid in the pan has almost evaporated.
  2. Add in dried shrimps, rock sugar, star anise, five spice powder and stir fry for 30 secs. Do not worry if the rock sugar is still hard as it will melt eventually.
  3. Add in the sauces, shallot, garlic and ½ of the rice wine (25ml) and stir for another minute.
  4. Cover and bring simmer for 5 mins. The sauce should be bubbling and slightly thick.
  5. Add in hot water (NOT TOO MUCH!) just enough cover the pork (we want a gravy consistency and not a soup) and place in hard boil eggs (if using) and simmer for 30 mins. (My hard boil eggs turned out a tad rubbery so perhaps you can try adding it in for a shorter period of time). Turn the eggs occasionally so both sides are evenly stewed.
  6. After 30 mins, add in the remaining rice wine (25ml) and cover for another 2 mins.
  7. Your stewed pork is done! Serve with steamed rice and a side of vegetables (I simply blanched them in hot water).

I am thinking of making a huge portion and storing them in the freezer for emergency dinners.

Leave a Reply

