adventures · elliott

miss ene checks out: Polliwogs (Vivocity)

On Elliott’s actual birthday, I took the day off and decided to take him to an indoor playgym.  We have never been to one and it being a weekday, I thought that it would be a good opportunity to check it out. I asked around for recommendations and names like Kids Amaze at SAFRA Toa Payoh and Polliwogs at Vivocity. As I wanted to go a spot of shopping after the playgym run, I decided on Polliwogs.

I was glad that I did a search on its location before heading there because Vivocity is huge and I did not want to lug my baby, diaper bag, stroller, etc all over the place. Polliwogs is located near Marche so if you can find Marche, it is past the main entrance on the left. Hard to miss the very colourful facade 🙂

We headed there at about 11am because I was unsuccessful in trying to get the birthday boy to nap. He did nap for about 30 minutes in the car though. The playgym was wonderfully empty. As Elliott is below the age of 2, I paid $13 for unlimited playtime. This fee is inclusive of entry for 2 adults with a complimentary cup of coffee/tea. I had to pay for 2 extra pair of adult socks for mum and I as it was a requirement and we were not wearing any. Note to self (and all): BRING YOUR OWN SOCKS, INCLUDING THE ADULTS!

IMG_0857-001

Polliwogs

There was a separate area for toddlers which is great as it prevents the tiny humans from being trampled upon by slightly larger humans. There is also a mini ball pit which was definitely THE highlight of the visit for the birthday boy. He clamoured to go into it the moment he saw it and the excitement and glee on his face? Priceless.

Polliwogs1

Polliwogs2“Bor!!” (ball) he said, repeatedly.

He also checked out the mini carousel which was constantly in motion but he wasn’t too impressed. In fact, he kept wanting to sit on the floor of the carousel instead of on the animals. Ha! Check out the less than impressed face.

Polliwogs3

As the place was pretty quiet, we managed to check out the older kids’ play area without being trampled on.

Polliwogs4

IMG_0835-001

Can I just say that these play gyms are so so tiring? My poor back! I was truly exhausted after our short stint. The birthday boy, on the other hand, was still full of energy. Pfffft. He also decided that it was a very good idea to climb up the giant slide.

IMG_0843-001

HOW IN THE WORLD DID HE MAKE HIS WAY UP THERE?! Jeez. My poor heart. I had to scramble after him to get him down safely. We also went on the slide together which thrilled him no end.

Polliwogs5

We left after about 3 hours (I think – wasn’t counting!) and I think his Por Por and mother were more exhausted than he was. But hey, the birthday boy had a wonderful time (I think) and that was all that mattered.

I have learnt that to have a great time at a play gym, one can only go on a WEEKDAY morning. The lack of a crowd and screaming kids definitely enhanced our first visit. I cannot imagine having to dodge older, screaming kids in a confined space. Ugh. Also, this particular Polliwogs looked bright, airy and most importantly, clean. I did spot a chocolate wrapper and used tissue (URGH!) at one of the play areas but the staff cleared it immediately after I alerted her to it.

We’d definitely come back again and yes, on a weekday 🙂

Polliwogs (Vivocity)
1 HarbourFront Walk
#03-12 Vivocity
Singapore 098585
(via Lobby A or B – Sky Park level towards Harbourfront Centre)
Tel: 6376 8097

Opening hours: Daily 10 am to 9 pm

Leave a Reply

