around the house · baking

miss ene bakes: Marble cake

IMG_8981-001

When it comes to baking, I stick to a simple mantra: I only bake stuff that I like.

This means pandan cake and butter cake (favourite and so easy!!). This also means that I do not attempt fancy stuff like macarons because it looks really difficult but more importantly, I don’t like it.

I also love marble cake but have never gotten my hands on a good recipe. Also, I was kitchen-less for a good 2 years so baking took a (very far) backseat.

A friend WT posted a picture of a marble cake she baked on Facebook and that got me excited again. Now that I have my own kitchen (hooray!) with a proper oven (double hooray!), I can bake again! These days, finding time and energy to bake is another challenge altogether.

IMG_8951-001

A couple of weekends ago, I decided to bite the bullet and bake that marble cake. Elliott was asleep and the boy was napping beside him. It was the perfect ‘window of opportunity’. I used this recipe which was the same one shared by WT. She also gave me a valuable tip which is to cut down on the amount of sugar (unless you have a sweet tooth). My personal notes are in brackets and italics.

IMG_8952-001

Marble Cake recipe
Prep Time: 15 Minutes | Bake Time: 40 Minutes | Makes 3 mini loaves

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks (220g) unsalted butter, at room temperature {I used Lurpak}
  • 7 oz (200g) plain flour/all purpose flour {I used ‘Top Flour’ from Prima}
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 7 oz (200g) fine or powdered sugar (confectioners sugar or icing sugar) {I used castor sugar and cut it down to 180 gm}
  • 4 eggs {I used eggs that were 60 gm each}
  • 1/2 tsp salt {I used sea salt}
  • 4 tablespoons fresh milk {I used a small bottle of Meiji milk and drank the rest}
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder {I used Hersheys}

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Lightly grease the pan with some butter.
  2. Mix the flour and the baking powder together and sieve. Add in salt and mix well. Set aside.
  3. Use an electronic beater to mix butter and sugar until well combined or pale yellow in color. Add in the first egg. Beat well after each addition of egg until creamy. Scrape down the sides and add in vanilla essence and fold in the flour into the mixture and mix well. Finally, add in the milk.
  4. Divide the batter into two portions. Stir the cocoa powder into one portion and mix well. Transfer the plain batter into the greased baking pan. Shake it lightly to distribute evenly. Pour the cocoa batter in the middle of baking pan, and lightly swirl the cocoa batter with a butter knife. I usually do the “S” shape with the butter knife a couple of times. Do not overmix.
    1. Bake until golden brown and cooked, about 40 minutes. In4sert a cake tester in the middle of the cake to test doneness. Remove it from the oven and let cool on the wire rack for another 5 minutes. Remove from the pan and serve immediately.

IMG_8953-001

The recipe states 40 minutes but at about 38 minutes, I noticed that the cake has risen quite a bit and was starting to crack at the top. ALAMAK!

IMG_8958-001

It was actually done. Note to self: Bake it for a shorter period the next time.

Check out the bottom of the cake – the ‘Red Man’ logo was imprinted onto the cake. Hur hur.

IMG_8968-001

I let it cool for about 5 minutes (as per recipe) and excitedly sliced it open. I wanted to see if all that swirling of patterns worked out…

IMG_8973-001

Oh yeay! It did look and importantly, taste like marble cake. I was very pleased for a first-time result.

IMG_8978-001

It was a tad dry though so yes, I’d bake it for a shorter duration the next time round. I ate a few slices fresh from the oven and it was yums, if I may say so myself 😉

Leave a Reply

