note to elliott

Note to Elliott – 09

Dear Elliott,

I was looking through your photos the other day and came upon the ones of your birth. I remember clearly how I told Daddy to ‘please remember to pack the camera’ into the hospital bag and he asked ‘For what?’. Pfffft. I am glad that he did as he was told and that is why I can look at those precious photos from your birth and reminisce. You were such a tiny little dumpling back then.

car

Today, I look at you and marvel (again) at how much you have grown (again). You have learnt how to do the ‘high-five’, a new ‘skill’ taught by your Gong Gong. We go ‘high-five!’ and you lift your hand up for us to slap palms. So darn cute. You now crawl at breakneck speed across the floor and insist on pulling yourself up into a standing position using the glass coffee table (!) as support. You recently also decided that the staircase rails are perfect to practise walking. I have a short video clip of it and can’t wait it to show you when you’re older.

And because you’re so so curious about everything in your way, you decided to chew on a mosquito patch the other day. You were in your stroller and you were remarkably quiet. Call it a mother’s instincts but I somehow knew you were up to something. We glanced down and lo and behold, you were giving the mosquito patch a proper chew through. Talk about giving your mother a heart attack! I yanked removed it quickly from your mouth and thankfully, I read somewhere on one of those mother’s Facebook page that the best thing to do is NOT panic and just to observe for vomitting, etc. I am glad to say that you looked none the worst for wear but oh, my poor heart. Please don’t do that to Mummy again.

box

You are now happy to take milk from a bottle and can happily polish off 180ml before bedtime. Not all at once, of course. You get distracted by everything in your sight and sometimes it takes a lot of effort just to get you to finish your milk. I am thankful for your Daddy who takes over milk-bottle duty and tries patiently to get you to finish your bottle of milk while I take a quick breather. You are also definitely consuming more formula than breastmilk these days.

Which leads me to teething. Ah, the good old nightmare of all mothers. You now have 4 (cute) little teeth – 2 upper and 2 lower ones. We can also see the ones at the top pushing through which means that we are all bracing ourselves for general grouchy and fussy behaviour. According to this chart by Pigeon, you seem to be on track on the teething front.

teeth

Your journey into solids is still pretty conservative although you have expanded your repertoire to include organic brown rice pasta stars from Bellamy. I gotta thank Libby who blogs at The Little Bow Girl for the 5 Veg Pasta sauce recipe. It looked easy enough and when I tried it, you seemed to enjoy it! Woots! You have also tried pizza crust from our adult meal and also enjoy Pigeon’s Carrot and Tomato Rice crackers as its shape allows you to wrap your little fingers around it easily. These snacks do contain sugar and salt and we all know how salt and sugar is a big no-no to little ones like you before the age of 1 but oh well. Mummy here subscribes to the “everything in moderation” mantra so there you go.

I first wrote about your foray into music class last month. Despite having had people quipping that I’m such a ‘kiasu mother’ for sending you for music lessons at such a tender age, I am happy to say that these weekly lessons have bore some fruit. You can now hit the drum on your own and when storytime comes round, you sit on your own and listen intently. Never mind that your attention span at listening to the story lasts for a mere minute or so but hey, you’re only 9 months!

Despite all the wonderful toys that I’ve procured for you, I am dismayed to see that you love and sometimes prefer a simple cardboard box over them all. Pffffft. From now on, my dear son, I’m just going to be throwing you our toilet paper core. You’d have to be content with that until you find joy in actual toys. Come bedtime, you love your Twilight Ladybug from Cloud B. We love watching you gaze at the projected stars in awe. Some innocent wonder in your eyes!

b

A clear sign that you’re growing way too fast? I checked out a playschool for you the other day. Yes. You, my dear child, will be going to playschool very soon. Well, the minimum age is 18 months and you’re half way there. I felt a tad emotional at the entrance of the facility because I can imagine that when the day and time comes for you to start, we will both be a teary mess. Oh well. We still have some time to go so I guess we’d think about it seriously again in the new year which is next month but never mind.

I would also like to document in this entry that after this fiasco with your passport photo, you now have your very own passport. We will be heading across waters very soon and I do hope that we all survive the 3 days!

As with each month, your mother here will take a photo with the ‘month sticker’ on your onesie but amidst house-moving madness (story for another post), I might have misplaced that 9 month sticker. Boo.

bite

Oh well never mind. Until I find that sticker and find an appropriate time, day and energy to snap that picture, HAPPY 9 MONTHS, my sweaty lil’ booboo. This entry may be a tad late but better late than never, yes? *big grin*

Love you very much,
Mummy xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

