around the neighbourhood · food glorious food

miss ene eats: char

We took Elliott swimming over the weekend and the boy suggested that we check out char as it was in the vicinity. It was about 5.50pm when we arrived at the shop front and already, there was a bunch of people milling about, waiting for the casual eatery to open. Wow. We were given a “reserved” table and told that we had to finish eating by 7.30pm which wasn’t a problem because we had a whiny baby on our hands (post swim = no nap = tired and whiny).

IMG_6427-1

I spotted a sign that said that food is cooked fresh and to expect a 30-minute wait. Whaaat? For char siew? Hmmmm. Thankfully, our food arrived after 5 minutes. I guess being one of the first few diners has its merits!

IMG_6423-1

I am a big fan of char siew. In one of my first jobs, I was always eating char siew rice for lunch. ALWAYS. As such, I consider myself quite an expert on char siew. It’s extremely unhealthy but I love my char siew slightly burnt and smoky. It also needs to be slightly fatty and melt-in-your-mouth.

IMG_6421-1

The char siew, simply put, lived up to its reputation. It was covered in a thick gooey sauce and had a smoky undertone. Check out how artery-clogging it was:

IMG_6424-1

The roast duck was underwhelming and I’ve definitely had much better elsewhere. Advice is to just stick to the char siew. We also ordered a side of vegetables (typical stir fried vegetables with garlic so no pictures) and this pot of tofu and belly pork to erm, make the meal more erm, healthy? Tofu is good, right? I enjoyed drizzling my bowl of steamed rice with the sauce. My only complaint about this dish? It was a tad too oily.

IMG_6422-1

When we were done gobbling down our meal (cranky baby, remember?), the entire restaurant was packed to the rafters. I saw quite a few groups of diners being turned away due to the eatery being filled to capacity. Phwah.

IMG_6426-1

I guess I would return just for the char siew but if I had to queue and jostle with a hungry crowd, I’d say no thanks. There are other places serving awesome char siew at a fraction of the price – and importantly, without the crazy crowd. Also, we paid $60+ for essentially a casual, zi char meal for 2 pax. Gulp. Very very expensive.

char
393 Guillemard Road
Singapore 399790

Opening hours: Tuesdays to Sundays, 11.30am – 2.30pm; 6.00pm – 10.00pm. Closed on Mondays.

393 
Leave a Reply

