around the neighbourhood · elliott · food glorious food

miss ene eats: Grub

I have exactly 2 months more before I head back to work. I know that I will miss doing stuff on a weekday so I told my mum that in these 2 months, we need to check out F&B places and enjoy these quiet weekday dining moments. I have been to Grub when they first opened. In fact, they were dog-friendly and we took Moon with us. It was perfect because she could sit below our table and waited while we enjoyed a nice dinner. They were even kind enough to provide a drinking bowl for Moon!

grub-001

Sadly, they no longer allow dogs. Pffft. All it takes is ONE person to make a call to NEA (which is what I suspect). It’s a real pity though. There are tons of dog owners walking their dogs in the evenings at the park.

Anyway.

We haven’t been back since then so we headed there with Elliott in tow. Someone didn’t look too pleased that it was a rather hot day and that the cafe wasn’t open yet. Ha.

IMG_7296-001

Those ring toys are a great distraction though! Nothing to do while waiting? Chew a ring (or three)!

IMG_7297-001

Grub opens at 11am on weekdays and we were about 10 minutes early so we waited for a bit under the shade. At 11am sharp (according to my watch), the shutters were still down so I went up and gestured to the waiter inside the restaurant to ask if it is ok if we wait at their outdoor seats as baby was getting hot, i.e. cranky. Thankfully, they allowed us into the air-conditioned premises and all was well again.

E looked like he was getting sleepy and a surefire way (ok, 90% of the time) to get him to snooze is to nurse him. Out came the swaddle cloth and true enough, he fell promptly asleep. *happy dance*

IMG_7300-001

I had to snap this picture as a treasured memory because one day, this nursing business will end and I will probably miss having my little man so close to me. Also, that chubby hand of his clutching onto the nursing cover is too cute. Side note to nursing mothers: This muslin nursing cover from Bebe Au Lait is awesome. It has a rigid neckline and importantly, is a lot less warm than 100% cotton ones. I had a cotton one but E would sweat buckets under it.

Right. Back to the food.

It was my mum’s first visit so I recommended that she get the Crispy Fish Burger (top right), which she did. I got the Pork Steak Burger with extra caramelised onion at the side (LOVE CARAMELISED ONIONS. Need to learn how to make it!).

IMG_7301-001

And because a nursing mother burns a lot of calories and need a lot of energy (according to me), I decided that it was timely to order a portion of their famous Churros. I had a sneaky feeling that we probably couldn’t finish them all but hey, we can always da bao the remaining home. Woots!

IMG_7304-001

Now that I have tasted them, I can see why they’re popular. They were crispy on the outside and warm and fluffy on the inside. I also like that it wasn’t crazily sugared (like the ones at Disneyland!). I managed to polish off about 3 pieces (or was it 4) before I decided that I was bursting at the seams. Ah, writing this post just reminded me that I have some in the fridge and I should finish them tonight.

It wasn’t a cheap meal (bill came up to $60+) but it was a nice satisfying meal. Probably not a place that we can eat regularly at but would be nice as an occasional treat.

Grub
510 Ang Mo Kio Avenue
(Enter the carpark from Sin Ming Avenue – you can’t miss it. It’s the only F&B outlet in the middle of the field)

Opening hours:
Tue-Fri: 11am – 3pm, 5.30pm – 10.30pm
Sat, Sun and PH: 9am – 4pm, 5.30pm – 10.30pm
Closed on Mondays and every last Tuesday of the month

Leave a Reply

