food glorious food

miss ene eats: Gu Ma Jia

I first heard of this restaurant from Instagram. Since we are always faced with the perennial question of “Eat what ah?”, I decided to save the name of this restaurant into my phone. Finally found some time to check it out with my family over the weekend.

Gu Ma Jia (eldest aunt in Mandarin) is located at a shophouse along Tai Thong Crescent (Macpherson). Parking is a bit of troublesome as there are only parallel lots on the road. We were lucky to score a lot.

They are known for their Assam fish head but we did not order it this time round as we did not feel like it. Instead, here’s what we got:

IMG_7171-002

This was an interesting way of cooking vegetables. The leaves were chopped up and deep-fried, while the stems were steamed (I think).

IMG_7172-002

These pork ribs were presented on a flaming hot plate which caused the kid at the next table to stop and stare. Ha. The ribs were covered in a sweet and salty sauce. I would have preferred the meat pieces to be smaller in size though.

IMG_7174-002

My mum is a fan of brinjal, hence this dish. I can’t comment on it since I only ate the crispy beans. Hehe. My favourite dish from the evening was definitely this:

IMG_7175-002

Friends who know me well will know that I am usually not a fan of prawns. However, this came de-shelled (the server who took our order kindly suggested that they can de-shell it for us, seeing that we had our hands full with Elliott). The prawns used were also fresh and crunchy. Yums! They were soooo sinful but really good!

I have to add that along with the meal, I ordered a glass of iced honey lemon tea and it was really good! It had the right mix of sweet and sourness that complemented my meal. I would return just to have another cup of it. It was that good.

We were pretty pleased with the standard of food at Gu Ma Jia but that same evening, the boy and I both felt really thirsty. We wondered if it was due to MSG in the food because it was rare that we both felt thirsty after a meal at the same time. Hmmmmm.

Maybe one day, we shall return in a bigger group to try their Assam fish head. And to give their food another chance.

Gu Ma Jia
45 Tai Thong Crescent
Singapore 347866
Tel: 6285 5602

Opening hours: Daily 11am – 10pm

 

 

Leave a Reply

