food glorious food · us

miss ene eats: Saturday lunch date

IMG_6420-001

I have been hankering after this Hokkien Mee from Toa Payoh Lorong 1’s hawker centre and I finally got the chance to eat it for lunch on Saturday. I didn’t think much of it previously but it was the boy’s all-time favourite. After eating it for a couple of times, I now love it very much as well. I like “wet” Hokkien Mee as opposed to the drier versions. Also, I need to eat my Hokkien Mee with sambal chilli. Stalls that serve it with cut chilli makes me feel cheated.

Also, if you look carefully, this stall serves up their noodles with tons of pork lard. I am guessing it is one of the key ingredients in making this plate of noodles so darn good. There isn’t much ingredients in it so I quipped to the boy that we are “carbo-loading”. Ha. We ordered the $8 version to share and when it arrived, it looked a tad intimidating because there was so. much. noodles! But erm, we finished it all.

On our way to lunch, I spotted the ice-cream cafe called Creamier. I’ve seen friends rave about it on Facebook and Instagram but had no idea where it was. Now I know! Decided to pop in to grab a scoop of their “must-try” Sea Salt Gula Melaka ice-cream. I love sea salt and I love gula melaka. What a perfect-sounding combination!

IMG_6419-001

It did not disappoint and thankfully, wasn’t too sweet. Then again, sweetness levels are very personal but I do not usually like stuff that are overly sweet. I was also tempted to try their Thai Milk Tea and the Earl Grey Lavender but decided not to be greedy. Oh and the waffles are supposed to be really good. Shall have to head back again sometime to try the other flavours!

2 thoughts on “miss ene eats: Saturday lunch date

Leave a Reply

