food glorious food · us

miss ene eats: The Rabbit Stash

Not to be confused with The White Rabbit, The Rabbit Stash is a ‘private dining boutique’. I think what this means is basically, the restaurant is tiny with limited tables and has a set menu that changes every couple of months. Located along Alexandra Road, it is on the street level of a building called Alexis which is directly opposite the Mercedes car showroom. Do note that the entrance to the carpark is rather abrupt from the main road so you’d have to slow down and look out for a small driveway to turn into.

The restaurant was recommended by the husband’s friend so we had no idea what to expect. The same friend recommended Kilo to us so I had pretty high expectations that we wouldn’t be disappointed. It was a rare dinner date sans baby and I was very excited to be putting on make-up, non-nursing clothes and carrying a handbag that wasn’t the diaper bag. Woots!

The small cosy restaurant has about 8 tables. I think. I can’t quite remember the exact number but it is really small. I thought that it would be all fancy-smancy but it isn’t. In fact, it was rather cosy and warm. The hostess, Donna, was also really friendly. She came up to me (I was early) and introduced herself before telling me about the specials, etc.

I’m not very good with restaurant/food reviews so here are pictures of the mains from our 3-course dinner. For starters, the husband had the pork belly cooked slowly, asparagus, pineapple mousseline, port, while I had the broth of lobster, king crab, caviar, truffle crème fraiche. Both were delish. No photos because I was too excited to dig in. I have to also mention that the bread served was delicious! I ate 3 (large) pieces of it which astounded my dining partner.

Anyhoo, here are pictures of our main courses. This is mine – Grilled kurobuta pork loin (200g), granny smith velouté, salad of spring, young carrot.

IMG_2806-001

He got the charred USDA Ribeye, butternut, ratte potato hash, pickled red cabbage:

IMG_2805-001

For dessert, he had the pandan crème brulee and coconut mousse (sorry, no picture) while I had the dark chocolate fondant, vanilla bean ice cream, almond soil. I never refuse dark chocolate. Mmmm….

IMG_2807-001

Verdict? It was GOOD! Our main courses were cooked to perfection and we had very happy bellies. All the accompanying sides on the plate complemented the main course wonderfully. Writing this post is making me very very hungry!

Donna was really friendly and by the end of the meal, it felt like we were dining at a friend’s home. Service was warm and impeccable without being intrusive. Such attentiveness is rare in the F&B scene in Singapore.

PS. If you intend to check it out, do call ahead to make a reservation. Also, we understand that they may be moving to a new location soon so do check their website (or call) for updates. Oh and I forgot to mention: NO GST!

The Rabbit Stash
354 Alexandra Road
#01-07 Alexis
Singapore 159948

Tel: 9858 8607 

Leave a Reply

