elliott

Superpowers

IMG_1769

And just like that, the littlest human turned one month old. And what a month it has been! I have since discovered superpowers that I never knew I had, like:

Superpower #1 – Surviving on very little sleep

Pre-Elliott days, I function very badly on little sleep. I turn into a snap dragon and pretty much cannot function. These days, I amaze myself at the ability to tend to the needs of a newborn while on very little sleep. I have to add to that I am very grateful to my mum who helps out with Elliott on some nights, allowing us at least 3-4 hours of uninterrupted sleep at a go. I now fully understand why my friends have told me that the phrase “sleeping-in” will cease to exist once we birth a child.

IMG_1544

Superpower #2 – Ability to sleep instantly

On the related topic of sleep, I have also discovered the new superpower of being able to sleep at the snap of a finger. I used to be the sort of person that needed at least 20 minutes to an hour before I drift off to sleep (unlike the boy who falls asleep the moment his head touches the pillow). Not these days. I can sleep anywhere, anytime, any place.

This brings me to my next superpower:

Superpower #3 – Going from asleep to awake in 30 seconds

I was never a heavy sleeper but still, being able to go from asleep to fully awake almost immediately is a pretty mean feat. At least to me.

Superpower #4 – Doing stuff at breakneck speed

I used to wonder why new mothers would say that they have “no time” to do this, or that. I NOW KNOW. TOTALLY. Days and nights merge into one. My life is now dictated by when the little one awakes from his nap and needs to feed. NOWNOWNOWNOWNOWNOWNOW. Those pockets of time when he naps are when I finally find time to do basic stuff like brushing my teeth, taking a (quick) shower, gobbling down my meal, and if I’m lucky, brush my hair and look vaguely decent. Just yesterday, I managed to apply a face mask (woohoo!) and moisturise my extremely neglected face and it felt like such an achievement. Can I also add that taking a much-needed shower and washing my hair makes me oh-so-happy. Ahhhh….

Superpower #5 – Ability to detect crying baby in another room instantly.

Sometimes, my mum helps to care for Elliott so that I can take a much-needed nap. For that, I am immensely thankful because some shuteye does wonders for my emotional well-being. I could be asleep but the moment I hear him cry (usually really loudly), my eyes fly open and I’d lie very still in bed wondering if I should attend to him. Depending on my state of sleep deprivation, I sometimes go back to sleep (bad mother!) or head to my mum’s room – bleary-eyed – to see if he needs me.

**************

There you have it. My newly-acquired superpowers since Elliott came into our lives. We are still on a learning curve but as the days go by, we are getting to know our little one a little bit better. We now know when he needs to feed, or simply need a cuddle. Of course, we still get it wrong sometimes and some evenings, we end up spending 3 hours trying to rock/sing/cuddle/soothe him to sleep but to no avail.

IMG_1892-001

We also took him out on his first car ride shortly after he turned one month old. I was slightly nervous to be taking him out (what if he bawls and can’t be comforted?!) but thankfully, he was generally well-behaved save for the time when he woke up and demanded to be fed NOWNOWNOWNOWNOWNOWNOWNOW.

He is also more aware of his surroundings and his eyes would follow toys that we jiggle in front of his face in a bid to distract him from screaming the house down. This little human is also capable of projectile poop (I’ve been a victim TWICE) and pee (too many times to count) which amazes us till today. How can something so small produce such forceful output is slightly beyond my comprehension.

Because I see him everyday, it is a little hard to tell if he has grown but I guess looking at how his newborn onesies are filling up very quickly, we can safely say that we are doing something right in our parenthoood journey and that he is indeed growing. Phew.

IMG_1824

Happy 1 month, my little munchkin. I think that you’re absolutely adorable but that’s just the supremely biased mother in me speaking. Keep growing well and as much as I love you to bits, let’s just save the projectile poop for your diapers, shall we?

8 thoughts on “Superpowers

      1. Haha all of them actually! I couldn’t find any with prints that I really liked, so I just got plain white ones (boring!!).

  1. A mother-of-two once told me that a good day is if she manages to bathe both her daughters and herself before the husband comes home from work. 4 months in, I totally know what she means now.. think you’ve just joined the club too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

