food glorious food · moments · the journey

miss ene eats: Gyu-kaku at UE Square

Last Friday evening, we met up with the BFF and her boy for a last hooray dinner before Bump arrives. They’re parents to 3 young kids and it is not often that we head out to town for an adults-only meal. Being pregnant has its privileges so I got to choose our dinner venue. As I’ve been on a carbohydrates and meat craze (hur hur), I suggested dinner at Gyu-kaku, CHIJMES. Unfortunately, that particular outlet is closed for renovations so we headed to their branch at UE Square instead. At time of booking, I did not realise that this outlet is considered a “prime” outlet – says so in its name. Apparently, the prime outlets offer better-cut meats, such as wagyu beef.

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 1.25.50 pm
Image taken from Gyu-kaku.

Anyway, we got down to business the moment we arrived…with the happy boys ordering beer. On a side note, I miss beer. I’m not even a huge beer drinker to begin with but when you can’t have it, you absolutely want it. Pfffft. And what’s BBQ meat without beer, right?

IMG_0510

Here’s a rare photo of the BFF smiling. And Bump is absolutely concealed because (1) I’m wearing black – very flattering for whale-like figures (me) and (2) we got to wear a cute disposable apron.

IMG_0511

We got the “Wagyu Plate A” which is basically a whole lot of wagyu beef in various cuts. Did someone say BEEF?IMG_0512

This meal is a meat lover’s dream come true (me). See that aluminium foil pack on the grill? That contains assorted mushrooms such as shiitake, straw, etc. I don’t know what they put in it, probably butter, but it is SUPER DELISH! A must-order if you’re at Gyu-kaku. Also, it makes me feel a wee bit better eating something healthier other than just meat.

IMG_0513

We also ordered sides of chicken (teriyaki) and Iberico pork. The chicken was good but I’d pass on the pork. It was no where close to the Iberico pork I had at Cut. Pffft. And it costs $16.90 for 100 grams!

Nonetheless, the rest of the evening was excellent – Absolute food decadence, funny conversations and crazy laughter. The perfect way to end a workweek!

Leave a Reply

