family · me myself and i · moments · us

In closing.

2013myyear

This picture ended my last entry for 2012. Let’s see how 2013 went:

We spent the year staying at my parents because we moved out of our matrimonial home in October 2012 and found our 2nd home a whole year later (!) in October of this year. Staying with parents mean that we get awesome homecooked meals almost every single day. Explains the expanding waistline!

The second quarter of the year saw us taking a long-awaited holiday in Europe. It was also there that the boy saw and felt snow for the very first time. The trip was meant to also celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. The furry member of our family also celebrated her 6th birthday with a little party at Sun Ray Cafe where she had too much to eat (as always). I turned a year older (boo) and the boy proposed a second time.

We are still volunteering with Therapy Dogs Singapore which we started in the beginning of 2012. The final month of the year saw us celebrating the boy’s birthday with our first-ever staycation and a fancy-pants dinner at CUT.

And we’re now here. 31 December 2013. The last day of the year.

It is also interesting to note that I did not blog as much this year as I did previously. There was definitely far lesser entries than the last 2 years. I know this because I refer a lot to my archive when writing this last entry of the year because I have a goldfish memory. I wrote less because somehow, the environment to blog at my parents’ place is not very conducive. Also, whenever I feel like blogging and got as far as turning on the laptop, I’d lose the “mood” to do so.

Anyway. Other than the above, there is also one other teeny tiny reason.

Back in 2010, I wrote this entry titled “The journey so far“. It garnered 12 comments which is quite a bit by this blog’s standards. In 2011, I wrote this one titled “The oven without the bun“. Much has happened since then. Without going into specifics, let’s just say that the journey hasn’t been an easy one. It involved wrenching heartaches, a lot of tears and see-sawing emotions. Loads of questions came up in our minds about this whole “starting a family” journey. To say the least, the journey was long, painful and worst of all, there was no end in sight.

I learnt enough fertility-related medical terms to start my own dictionary. Everyone had their own suggestions, comments, thoughts, tips, etc. We appreciated and listened to the valuable ones and shut out the rest. There was already too much going on. We soldiered on with life and just focussed on the good things in which we were immensely grateful for (supportive family, wonderful understanding friends, the list goes on…)

If you’ve been following this blog, you will remember that 2012 was a bad year. 2011 was not particularly good either. I was losing patience and getting tired of the whole trying-to-conceive journey. So very very tired. I was tired physically, mentally and emotionally. It was not a good place to be in. I was glad for 2012 to end and was looking forward to 2013, hence the photo at the beginning of this blog entry.

2013 turned out to be a significant year because after that long-drawn journey, we found ourselves pregnant in June 2013.

moon

Yes, you read that right. miss ene and the boy finally have a bun in the oven. FINALLY. *cue confetti and fireworks*

It has definitely taken a while, huh? I guess the saying that ‘good things come to those who wait’ ring true for us in this instance. The news came as a bit of a surprise. It was such a surprise that the boy’s first response to my message that we’re pregnant was: Wow. I’m stunned.

Yep. Stunned. Stunned that it actually happened. To us. After trying for so damn long. As the BFF wisely said, we have jumped through hoops of fire with hungry lions below. And survived. You will also realise that it has taken us almost 6 months to announce it here – see below. Most expectant couples would be shouting it out loud to the world (i.e. social media) but we held back. Only family and close friends knew.

We were afraid.

We were a bundle of nerves. Would it work out? Will it all end in tears again? Tons of questions ran through my head and I was terrified. I could barely breathe at every scan and was always filled with trepidation. I think I only finally relaxed and enjoyed the pregnancy when I could feel the movements on a daily basis. It was then that it finally sank in that it is all real. THERE IS A LIVING THING INSIDE ME!

The bun is exactly 30 weeks today (full term is 40 weeks) so not long to go before the oven goes DING!!

IMG_8375

Photo was taken when I was approaching 28 weeks. Please note that I do not look this fantabulous on a daily basis. This was a rarity because we were just at a lovely wedding lunch.

So. Was 2013 my year?

Hell yes. I also have a sneaky feeling that 2014 will be a year filled with changes seeing that miss ene and the boy will no longer be just that. We have a new (tiny) member on the way and we can’t wait.

If you made it to the end of this really long and rambling entry, thank you for staying around. From our little family to yours, may the year ahead be gorgeous and if 2013 didn’t quite work out the way it was, may 2014 be THE year for YOU.

Happy-New-Year-2014-Wallpaper

27 thoughts on “In closing.

  1. Congratulations!!! I have been following your blog since 2011 and I know that long journey in trying… really happy to know that you’ve succeeded. May your future be filled with lots of joy and wonders (:

  2. Oh congrats! You’re looking absolutely radiant in the photo. It was a really tough journey for us, with numerous rounds of IUIs and finally, IVF, and we didn’t even dare to announce the pregnancy at all, until I gave birth. Enjoy your pregnancy, and treasure the wonderful experience of feeling the baby moving inside. Try to take a video of him/her movements too! I couldn’t get a good one, but my friend did, and it’s so much fun watching the video. Congrats again, and have an even better year ahead!

    1. Hey Adeline! Thank you 🙂 I honestly don’t look *this* radiant on a daily basis. TRUTH. It took me a while before announcing the pregnancy as well because I was still paranoid! I do have a few videos of baby’s movements and you’re right – they are very fascinating and fun to watch. Happy New Year!

  3. Congrats congrats! Happy for u! I don’t have any bun in the oven too & at times, find myself envious at those with kids. I do rejoice with those who are like you, finally with a child after a long wait. Wishing you well.

  4. Same here…been following your blog for quite sometime… It’s definitely a good news to share in the beginning of the new year! bring myself so much joy and hope! Rest assured, everything’s gonna be okay! ENjoy the journey til the lil one come to the this world 🙂

  5. Congratulations!
    I’ve been following your blog for quite a while. Really happy for you…!
    I too, took a while in the pregnancy journey before I conceived early 2013.
    2014 will be a great year!

  6. Congrats! I’ve been following your blog for a few years and happy for you that your bun is arriving soon! I too took a few years to conceive and was on the receiving end of alot of comments. 2014 will be a great one for you! Enjoy motherhood when your little one is born!

    1. Hi Emeline! Thank you for leaving a comment. Yes, the journey wasn’t easy (as it was for you) so I totally understand what you mean by “comments”. Happy 2014!

  7. Hi Miss Ene, I have been a silent reader for moons.. reading about you and your lil doggy.. I’m so happy for you and can’t wait to see your baby pics! 🙂 I’m sure 2014 will be a great year for you n the boy!

Leave a Reply

