lil' things that make me happy · us

We found THE ONE!

It has been almost a year since we moved out from our very first matrimonial home. Since then, we have been leeching living at my parents’ place. It isn’t too bad because we get delicious home-cooked meals (which explain these entries) and our laundry gets done miraculously. We do have a relatively large room to ourselves but…it’s just different. Most of our stuff are in boxes and we live pretty minimally. Our clothes are hung on temporary racks and a small wardrobe that is bursting at the seams. Things are not where they should be because this is a temporary arrangement. I don’t bake and cook as much as I used to because my mum does all the cooking anyway and we never ever run out of food 🙂 That’s what happens when you live with mum!

Despite all the wonderful things that come with living with parents (and we are very thankful), it is not our own space where we get to lie around and be ourselves. I like things to be where they should be. I like buying flowers to decorate the home. I like baking and cooking in my own tiny kitchen. I like sprawling on the living room floor with Moon just because I can.

We have been house-hunting during the past year or so. We have seen many houses, from HDB flats to brand-new apartments close to town. I am not a fan of house-hunting. I find it very tiring. Maybe it’s a woman’s thing but when buying a home, I rely on my intuition while the boy does the practical stuff like doing the sums, checking the nearby amenities and facilities, etc. The moment I arrive at a potential house, I need to feel comfortable and “right”. Don’t ask me what is “right” – I just know. It was the same with our first home.

So yes, we have seen quite a few houses and none hit the spot. There was always something wrong with it – the price, the location, the state of the house, the vibe, all of the above. None of the places we saw made my heart leap or made me think that “YES! We can live here!”

Not until we stumbled upon an apartment close to Kallang River. It was close enough to amenities, it did not have 10,000 units, it wasn’t asking for an exorbitant price, it was slightly larger than our previous apartment and it comes with a utility area where you can place your washing machine and dry clothes naturally. Side track: Have you seen the new teeny tiny apartments where the washing machine and dryer are stacked on top of each other and placed in…the kitchen? We have glorious sunshine! I want to be able to dry my clothes naturally! 

Also, it has the most amazing view for now (assuming the plot of land in front of it doesn’t get developed!!):

view

This picture was taken from the common residents’ area on the 15th floor (I think – I can’t quite remember). The view from the apartment is similar. If you look carefully, we should be able to view the NDP fireworks in the distance come August!

I was very excited when we saw this place. I had the “WE CAN LIVE HERE! YES WE CAN!” thought in my when we did the initial visit. It is close to Kallang River which means that we can take walks along the river in the evening with Moon. It is also closer to the boy’s workplace so that he does not need to take more than an hour to get home each day. Getting to/from my workplace is not too bad as well.

To cut a long story short(er), we both agreed that yes, we like this place and will make an offer. The deal was signed and I was just soooo relieved that we finally have a new home! The only downside is, the place is tenanted till the middle of 2014 which means that we have to wait a while more…

But it is ok! Time flies and I am sure it won’t be long before we get to move in. Also, we probably will only require minimal renovations (it is not a brand new apartment but it is in relatively good condition) so fingers crossed, we should be at our 2nd home by the 3rd quarter of 2014.

I have been wanting to blog about this for a while now but decided to wait till now because on 24 October, we officially became the joint owners!

Whoop whoop! *throws confetti*

I can’t wait to have our own place again to build new and wonderful memories…For now, I’d continue to enjoy the good food and grow fat.

7 thoughts on “We found THE ONE!

Leave a Reply

