randoms · thoughts

Dogs in strollers. Yay or nay?

I was having lunch with my colleagues when I spotted this sight:

dog_pram1

A small dog was being pushed by its owner in a dog stroller. It is not the first time I have seen this and it is becoming a common sight.

Disclaimer: Let me state upfront that there could be perfectly valid reasons why a dog is placed in a stroller, i.e. dog is extremely old and has weak legs, hence it cannot walk on its own. That, to me, qualifies as a valid reason.

I don’t get this dog in a stroller thing. Dogs are meant to be walked. They love exercise, they love to explore their surroundings by sniffing objects, people, etc. Walking also allows a dog to get rid of their pent-up energy. Walks – long walks – are especially crucial for certain high-energy breeds such as the Jack Russell Terrier.

I know that some dog owners are afraid of their dogs getting dirty after a walk because their dog sleeps with them on their bed. In that case, use antiseptic wet wipes for their paws! Either that, or do not allow your dog to sleep in your bed. Get them their own bed!

I have seen a few dogs squeezed into one stroller (3 small shit-tzus, I believe). They were barking at everything that came their way and basically behaving really badly. I wish I had the guts to gently tell the owner that she really should let them run around to get rid of their energy.

Maybe it’s just me but I feel sad for the dog whenever I see one in a stroller. Do you feel the same way too?

4 thoughts on “Dogs in strollers. Yay or nay?

    1. I can almost understand if they want to take their dog shopping, hence it goes into a stroller. I have actually seen a dog in a (netted) stroller with its owner at Robinsons City Hall. But to walk a dog at a lovely park with green grass in a stroller? That’s just really sad (to me).

Leave a Reply

