me myself and i

Liebster Award

It was a lovely surprise to note that bookjunkie nominated me, or my blog (essentially the same, I think) for the Liebster Award.

Here are the rules:

  • When you receive the award, you post 11 random facts about yourself and answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you.
  • Pass the award onto 11 other blogs (make sure you tell them you nominated them!) and ask them 11 questions.
  • You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated you!”
  • Make sure the blogs you chose have 200 or LESS followers

For now, I don’t think I’d pass it on to other bloggers (because it took me a long time to craft out this entry!) but maybe, just maybe, I will do it one day when I’m bored.

11 random facts about miss ene:

  1. I am a chronic nail biter. I’ve been biting my nails for as long as I can remember. The only time I stopped (briefly) was the period leading up to our wedding day in 2009 where it took all of my self-restraint not to chew on my nails.
  2. I have goldfish memory. I can completely forget that I’ve been to a place, like CLEAN forget. It drives the boy crazy sometimes.
  3. I have an old small pillow, about the half the size of a normal pillow, from my childhood that I still hug to bed every single night. The covers are of a (fake) Mickey Mouse design and the insides of the pillow have been refilled many times by my dear mummy. I call it my ‘chao chao (smelly) pillow’. The best way to annoy me before I sleep is to hide my chao chao pillow.
  4. I don’t like shopping. I find it a waste of time. I hate going from shop to shop looking for something in particular (and not finding it). Or browsing at the racks. I usually only walk into a shop if something in their window catches my fancy. I like pretty nice things though. Ha.
  5. I have an extraordinarily large gap between my first and second toe. It’s probably from all that slipper-wearing when I was a kid. Friends used to kid that I haven’t quite evolved from a monkey.
  6. I read voraciously as a kid/teenager. I read the Straits Times religiously after school each day and would read everything, including the obituary pages. I skipped the Politics page though (I still do). I grew up reading Enid Blyton’s Tales of Toyland series, as well as Nancy Drew. Oh, not forgetting The Naughtiest Girl series as well as Noddy. I used to imagine that my toys came alive in the night like the ones in Toyland and wished that I attended an English boarding school. I read when I was in my first job, reading on my 45-minute bus ride to work.
  7. I was a HUGE Archie comics fan. I would badger my parents to buy me a copy whenever we passed a bookstore. I had 2 bookshelves worth of Archie comics, including double digests, and I would re-read them over and over again. I couldn’t stand Veronica and thought that she’s such a s***. Of course, I rooted for Betty to be with Archie 🙂
  8. I absolutely abhor inconsiderate people. Smokers who leave their cigarette butts burning at the dustbin, drivers who stop their cars suddenly causing every other driver to go around it, people who talk loudly in the cinema, and the list goes on. Inconsiderate behaviour gets me into a tight bind and I have to mentally calm myself down whenever I see an inconsiderate act. I wished I had more guts to tell off inconsiderate people. Maybe when I turn 40.
  9. I had an imaginary dog when I was a young child. I would instruct my ‘dog’ to get into the car with me and would ‘talk’ to it as I sat on the backseat while my ‘dog’ sat at my feet. I would also play silent games in my head such as stepping on lines with my right leg and stepping on empty space with my left. I’d usually end up hopping and skipping while walking down the street with my mum. Ha.
  10. I was a 100% meat eater for a good part of my life. I did not eat vegetables or fruits till my mid-20s. I am constantly amazed that I am still alive today. Even though I eat vegetables today, I still don’t eat fruits. Well, except for apples. I am a very picky eater and it would be easier to list the items that I eat, instead of those that I don’t (too long a list).
  11. I’ve been blogging since 2002, way before the blogging craze started. OMG, it’s been 10 years! My original blog is now locked and filed away. I can’t even remember the blog address but I know it was from blogspot. This started as a wedding blog (name ‘youdecidelor’ was inspired by the boy’s constant answer to all my wedding-related questions, in case you’re wondering!) but have since evolved into everything and anything. Oh and btw, did you know that the Liebster Award is granted to bloggers with ‘200 or less followers who deserve some recognition and support to keep on blogging’. Doesn’t quite apply to me since I’ve been blogging without an award (or recognition, hur hur) for….10 years?!

And here are my answers to the 11 questions by bookjunkie:

1. What is the best trip you have ever made that you would recommend to others? Which country did you visit?

It would have to be our driving trip to Hokkaido, Japan. It was our first anniversary celebration (sort of) and it was a wonderful trip filled with good food, gorgeous scenery and lovely company. I can’t wait to return.

2. If you could choose, where would you have liked to be born?

Can I choose to be born in Singapore, but with a less humid environment? Ok, no such country exists so I guess the answer is Singapore. I wouldn’t choose to be born anywhere else because I feel fortunate being a Singaporean. There are many things I wish that could be better but in the general scheme of things, I do love Singapore 🙂

3. What is your dream vocation?

My childhood dream was to be a lawyer. That didn’t quite work out and I’m quite thankful (so many things to memorise!). My secret lifelong dream is to be…a cashier. Yes, really. A cashier. I enjoy watching cashiers punch a series of numbers into the cash register and then bagging groceries. This is before the days of the bar code, of course. I enjoy what I’m doing right now so I guess it can be considered a dream vocation.

4. What blog or website do you read daily without fail?

My homepage is set to Yahoo so I usually skim through the news. Or what they call “news”. I go on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram quite a bit as well. Oh, and I read news from AsiaOne.com

5. What book are you reading now?

*blush* 50 Shades Freed which is the final book in the 50 Shades of Grey trilogy. This may sound incredulous but I’m starting to get sick of the graphic sexual descriptions and have started skipping them. REAL STORY. I just want to know what eventually happens to Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele, damnit!

6. Do you play an instrument?

I used to play the piano till Grade 6. I stopped because I wasn’t having fun anymore and would find all sorts of excuses to skip lessons. It also coincided with my GCE O levels so it was the perfect excuse to drop piano lessons. I really hated practising the piano (all those boring exam pieces!) but enjoyed playing pop pieces. In my late 20s, I also fulfilled a childhood dream of learning to play the drums. I even owned a set of drums for a while and would practise on weekends (poor neighbours). I still have my drumsticks somewhere…All said and done, I’m very glad that I was privileged enough to have gone through music lessons.

7. What did you like best about your childhood?

Growing up at a house with a huge garden compound, in a kampong. My late grandpa owned the house and I believe my parents held their wedding dinner in the garden (a garden wedding in the 70s!). I remember days of running freely in the huge garden and trying to climb trees. I also remember watching my grandpa slaughter a live chicken (urgh) and pestering my doting grandma to buy me a (real) chick (yes, just one) from the wet market because it’s cute. That same chick became a chicken, which became curry chicken at the dinner table. True story.

8. What is your biggest regret?

I wouldn’t call it a regret but I would have preferred my 20-something self to be more self-assured and not allow (then) boyfriends to push me around. Not literally, of course, but I was quite a pushover in past early relationships. I wasn’t very confident about myself then so whenever a guy took a fancy to me, I would spend half the time wondering what he saw in me, and the rest of the time trying not to lose him. Very sad, really. Then again, I don’t consider it a regret because if not for those turbulent relationships in my earlier years, I wouldn’t be where I am today. Another regret I have is not spending more time with my late grandpa. He lived till a ripe old age and although I had all that time, I didn’t take the opportunity to get to know him better.

9. Name 5 of your favourite foods?

Too many to name but here goes:

  • Sichuan diced chicken with dried red chilli (I’ve loved this dish since I was 8 years old)
  • Chwee kueh
  • Peking duck with pancakes
  • Lor bak
  • Nonya chang

10. Name your favourite celebrity.

I don’t really have one but I do like Lee Hom because he’s insanely talented and hot. Slurp. Ok, I know that there are rumours that he bats for the other team but it doesn’t bother me.

11. What is the most important value to you?

Integrity, without a doubt.

The end *bows*

One thought on “Liebster Award

  1. I found so many similarities. Nail biter too. Hardly eat veg or fruit – have to consciously make myself so it. But more a starchitarian 😉 Love bread. And yes Archie! Will be coming back to this post again to read it slowly and it has convinced me even more that I need to get to Hokkaido.

Leave a Reply

