food glorious food

miss ene eats: Marukin Ramen

The boy and I had the weekday off from work (hooray!) and decided to check out Marukin Ramen at Scotts Square since we were in the vicinity. I wasn’t too keen at first because it uses chicken broth and the only ramen I like (and know) are made from pork broth. Anyhow, I decided not to diss it before I try it. It was about 3pm on a weekday afternoon and the place was relatively empty save for 2 other tables other than us. The service staff did not glance at us even though we stood at the entrance for a bit so I decided to march straight in and sat down.

I ordered the Marukin Miso while the boy had the Spicy Miso Tori Dukushi. I was too eager to eat so I forgot to snap a picture of his noodles. Heh. Mine’s the signature miso ramen (with chicken charshyu) while his ramen came with a piece of chicken wing, chicken meat balls, on top of chicken charshyu. We also ordered a side of chicken gyozas to share. I have to also add that the noodles aren’t your usual ramen-type noodles. These resembled our chinese yellow noodles. I was a tad apprehensive as I’m not a fan of the chinese yellow noodles because of the strong ghee taste.

Surprisingly, the ramen exceeded our expectations. The soup base was surprisingly flavourful and best of all, the fat yellow ramen had no trace of ghee. Yeay! The chicken charsyu was also flavourful and tender. However, the highlight of our meal was the chicken gyozas. I’m a big fan of gyozas and I’ve eaten my fair share. The ones from Marukin Ramen were delicious! I expected it to be less flavourful than pork gyozas but again, surprise surprise, they were scrumptious. Crispy on the outside, soft and tender on the inside, it was love at first bite. Two thumbs up for chicken gyozas! They were also having a 50% off second bowl of ramen promotion on Mondays so it made the meal even more sweet 😉

Would I return again? Maybe. Especially if I’m with friends (yes, you, BFF) who don’t take pork and I’m in the area. Otherwise, my favourite ramen in Singapore is still Ippudo.

Marukin Ramen
12 Scotts Road
#B1-11/12 Scotts Square

Opening hours: 11.00am – 10.00pm

Leave a Reply

