food glorious food

miss ene eats: Menya Musashi

We took a rare shopping trip into the city on Sunday afternoon. For the record, we rarely go into the city on weekends unless we have something that we need to buy. The crowds scare us. Anyway, I had a craving for ramen and since the boy hasn’t tried the ramen at Menya Musashi at Raffles City, I suggested that we head there. It was to be my third visit and his first.

On my last 2 visits, I did not have to queue at all because I went at odd times (i.e. 4.30pm on a weekday afternoon). This time round, we were not so lucky. There was a queue of about 5-6 parties ahead of us so we spent about 20 minutes queuing. And for those who know me well, I abhor queuing for food so this was some sort of record.

I ordered the black tsukemen which is essentially a bow of dry ramen served with a bowl of black broth. You eat it by dipping it into the sauce and then slurping it up. The boy decided to try the original white tonkatsu broth ramen. We also ordered a side of gyoza to go along because since I had to queue for my food, might as well over-order to make the queuing worth it.

The white ramen didn’t quite hit the spot with the boy declaring that the noodles were too starchy and the broth was too ‘sticky’ for his liking. I quite enjoyed my dipping noodles but I did not like that the char siew and eggs were served at room temperature. Walking past the open-concept kitchen on our way out, I saw that these were all pre-prepared and sitting out in the open. That explains it.

Will we return? Not the boy but for me, I would return only if I don’t need to queue. In my opinion, it’s not worth the queue.

Menya Musashi
Raffles City Shopping Centre, #01-16
Tel: 6336 6500

Opening hours: Daily 11.30am – 9.30pm

 

Leave a Reply

