food glorious food · me myself and i

Me time.

I had a lovely time by myself yesterday. Took the afternoon off and went for a much-needed facial at One Beauty Place at Tangs. I’m not a big believer in signing up for packages (all sorts) but at my last facial, I bought the following package:

 I’ve been a big fan of Decleor since I discovered their wonderful night cream and thought it’d be lovely to have a facial with their products. I discovered One Beauty Place when they had a promotion with Reebonz where I bought a trial package for 2. Yes, I made the boy go for a facial with me. I think he quite enjoyed the pampering. Besides, his face was glowing post-facial!

Anyway, I went for my usual facial and as usual, it was 2 solid hours of face pampering. Mmmm. The only downside was, Tangs is currently having major renovations. There was constant drilling that drove me slightly mad. I even felt a slight headache coming on. Urgh. Thankfully, the facial treatment room was enclosed so the incessant drilling became a dull background noise. I even managed to fall asleep a couple of times. Bliss!

Headed off to Raffles City next where I decided to indulge in an early dinner of ramen. There’s a relatively new ramen place in town called Menya Musashi, located at the side facing CHIJMES. I’ve tried the Tsukemen ramen (photo credit here) which is dry ramen accompanied by a dipping sauce and wanted to eat it again.

Alas, I was distracted by their “special menu” featuring Akiba Curry Ramen. The picture looked good and after checking with the server that it wasn’t too spicy, I went ahead to order it.

The broth was thick and flavourful but was a tad salty. But look at ’em noodles! And thinly-sliced pork (with bits of fats attached), and that soft runny egg! It was pretty darn yummy but it would be better if this was shared, with a side of gyoza 🙂 I finished every morsel of it and was a very happy girl.

I was there at about 4.30pm (!) so there wasn’t many other diners. I heard that there’s usually a queue at meal times so go at odd hours if you don’t want to stand in line.

Menya Musashi
252 North Bridge Road
#01-16 Raffles City Shopping Centre
Tel: 6336 6500

Opening hours: Daily 11.30am – 9.30pm

Leave a Reply

