family · food glorious food

miss ene eats: Whole Earth Peranakan Thai Vegetarian Restaurant

I posted this note to self last June but never quite made the trip to check out the vegetarian restaurant. Until last Saturday, that is. Together with my in-laws and brother-in-law, we made a reservation for 5 pax at Whole Earth Restaurant which serves vegetarian Peranakan and Thai. A rather interesting combination, if you ask me. I’m not much of a vegetarian (quite the opposite, really!) but thanks to having a FIL who is vegetarian, I’ve been eating at various vegetarian places in recent years. Why, I even unlocked this badge on FourSquare!

*proud*

Anyhoo, we were shown to a nice corner table in the brightly-lit restaurant when we arrived and again, thanks to FourSquare, we decided to order a couple of their highly recommended dishes such as the rendang. Also, check out the many accolades that the restaurant has garnered!

The food, to say the least, was DELICIOUS. I momentarily forgot that I was at a vegetarian restaurant because they tasted so darn good! I even quipped to the boy that if I could eat such good quality vegetarian food for life, I’d gladly turn vegetarian. Just so you know, I never did eat vegetables till very late in my life (in my 20s) so for me to actually proclaim a love for vegetarian food is rather momentous!

We ordered the olive brown rice and penang renang which came highly recommended. And I can see why. The olive brown rice did not taste of brown rice at all and was thoroughly flavourful with a “wok hei” taste. I’m not a fan of olive rice (yes, I’m a picker eater, can you tell yet??!) but I ate this with relish. Soooo good! The penang rendang tasted almost like the real thing and was just as flavourful.

I was fascinated by how “meat-like” the rendang was so I just had to snap a picture:

Looks like meat, doesn’t it? I think my senses were rather confused. In a good way, of course. Also, according to their website, their food have no MSG nor mock meats 🙂

The cereal tofu was really good as well. I’m used to eating cereal prawns so substituting prawns for tofu was quite a novelty for me. I’m not sure how they do it but the tofu was crispy on the outside and extremely soft on the inside. Melts in the mouth! Check out that sweet and sour pork. It totally looked like the real deal and even tasted “real”. If you’re a fan of spicy food, you’d have to order the sambal king which is made up of various types of vegetables fried in (vegetarian) sambal.

Oh, I don’t have a picture but you must order the lemongrass drink (I had the hot version) but both versions are good! This had the right mix of sweetness and lemongrass flavour.

The total bill came up to this:

…which works to about $29 per person. [Side note: The cashier is called ‘Blenda”. Hur hur.] Definitely not the cheapest meal around but hey, it was a really good and satisfying meal! I can definately see ourselves heading back.

Whole Earth Peranakan Thai Vegetarian Restaurant
76 Peck Seah Street
(Tanjong Pagar MRT Exit A)
Singapore 079331

Tel: 6323 3308

Opening hours: 11.30am – 3pm, 5.30pm to 10pm. Open daily.

Leave a Reply

