randoms

How NOT to greet a dog

I noticed that in Singapore, strangers would usually do one of the following when they spot Moon:

1) Make “kissing” noises (ala ah bengs trying to get the attention of girls)

2) Make “clucking” noises with their tongue

3) If they are with young children, they’d point Moon out to kid and go “Look! Dog dog!”

4) If it’s a little kid, they’d usually point at Moon and go “dog” or “puppy”

5) Some kids run away very quickly, squealing at the top of their voices, as if they’ve seen a headless ghost. Others grab the legs of their nearest parent with a look of fear in their eyes

6) Others walk right up to Moon and try and jab her left eye. Or pull her tail.

Thankfully, Moon has a friendly disposition and when approached by strangers, her first instinct is to lick them. She has never reacted negatively or worst, violently even when she is accidentally prodded with small fingers. I usually warn strangers that if they allow her to, she’d usually lick them to death. Heh.

So for everyone reading this blog but is not sure how to approach dogs, here’s a useful guide!

4 thoughts on “How NOT to greet a dog

  1. I came across your blog while looking up massage in Taipei (I might be going later this month) and found your blog to be quite engrossing!

    Regarding this wrong and right way to approach a dog however, I’m not sure I can totally agree.

    I don’t think everyone has the time to just stand around, not looking at the dog, hoping it may decide to approach and sniff you. If you see the dog in public, it’s rare that either the owner, or the approaching stranger, will have the patience to just stand around for 5 or 10 minutes waiting for something to happen!

    Personally, I hold out my hand and let the dog or cat sniff it. But I stand out at a slight distance a few feet away. If the dog’s comfortable, it’ll approach me and sniff and maybe lick my hand. Works fine for me!

    Anyway, I like your well written blog!

    Regards

    Adrian

    1. Hi Adrian! Thanks for leaving a note – I’m glad you like reading my ramblings. I get what you mean about strangers not having the time to stand around to wait for a dog to approach but generally, based on my experience with Moon while on walks, people tend to come right up to her face and try and pet her, without allowing her to “smell” them first.

      Like you, there are some adults who would let Moon sniff their hands first. I think that’s one way that works. Thankfully, Moon is quite tolerant so even though kids reach out and try and poke her in the eye (unintentionally), she doesn’t snap/bark/bite. Phew. Not too sure about other dogs though!

      Nonetheless, thanks again for leaving a comment!

Leave a Reply

