food glorious food · me myself and i

miss ene eats: Fat Cat (and waffles!)

Today, many kids are starting formal school for the first day and many are heading back to work after the year end holidays. Me? I took the day off from work so that I can take it easy for just one more day. Heh. Took the chance to catch up with the BFF. Haven’t seen her for a while. I took her to Fat Cat at Jalan Riang as I’ve been meaning to check it out. They serve Thai, North Indian and Western. Interesting mix eh? I also had plans to partake in waffles at Wimbly Lu post-meal (they are 2 doors away from each other).

Told the BFF to dress light as the place wasn’t air-conditioned but it was a windy day so it was perfect. I’d rather sit in windy non-airconditioned places than an air-conditioned one with sub-zero temperatures. We decided to share the red duck curry ($10 ala carte) and a North Indian set of aloo gobi, chicken tikka and plain naan. ($10.50 for lunch set).

The red duck curry was awesome! Highly recommended. Definitely worth a try if you like Thai curries. Chicken tikka was nicely marinated too but I wish I had ordered butter chicken instead as I love dipping naan into sauce. Wasn’t too fussed about the aloo gobi as I’ve had better.

My only grouse with the place? It doesn’t serve water! Pffft. We each had an ice lemon tea instead. The total bill came up to about $28 which was very reasonable for a decent lunch.

Sadly, Wimbly Lu wasn’t open so we headed off to Udders at MyVillage (Serangoon Gardens) for my must-eat-now waffles and ice-cream.

And it was just the way I wanted it – vanilla bean ice-cream drizzled with chocolate sauce, over a freshly-made waffles. Mmmmmm. I have to say that I still prefer the waffles at Wimbly Lu so we’d have to head back there soon!

Fat Cat Bistro
15 Jalan Riang
Singapore 358987

Tel:Β 62855276
Opening hours:Β Tuesday to Friday, 11:30am – 2.30pm; 5.30pm – 11.00pm, Saturday & Sunday, 11.30am-3.00pm,; 5.30pm-11.00pm

 

Leave a Reply

