movies

miss ene watches 2 awesome films!

I watched 2 movies on the way to Sydney and back. The movie selection wasn’t great. The ones I wanted to see, I’ve already seen. I had to look harder to find movies that sounded vaguely interesting. And I managed to find these 2 gems that I otherwise would not have watched.

Foster

The story revolves around the life of a couple who is looking to adopt a kid after failing to have one of their own after many years. One day, unexpectedly, a little 7 year old boy named Eli turns up at their front door and their lives change. It was originally shot as a short film in 2005 but is now a full-length feature film. I was trying to find more information on it but had a hard time. Not sure why. I managed to find this short 3-minute clip from the movie itself. Not a trailer, mind you. The actual movie.

I really enjoyed the sweet & simple film with a touching message at the end. I shan’t spoil it for you but there are a couple of twists throughout. The child actor playing Eli, Maurice Cole, speaks with an adorable British accent and it is hard not go “Awwwww” everytime he speaks. Here are some scenes from the movie:

I also managed to find the short film with completely different actors.

I’m not sure if the movie will ever be released in Singapore but when it does, go catch it! Definitely a feel good movie that will make you feel warm and fuzzy all over. But not in a diabetic sweet way 🙂

My name is Khan

This is a 2010 Bollywood movie that stars Shahrukh Khan in the leading role. Most of the dialogue takes place in English but yes, there was English subtitles too. The story revolves around a Muslim man named Rizwan Khan (Shahrukh Khan) who is a little different from other children. He doesn’t like the colour yellow, doesn’t like loud noises and has an amazing ability to repair all sorts of mechanical things. It is only later in life that he is diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome which is an autism spectrum disorder. He meets a Hindu young lady at a hair salon, falls in love and they get married. To cut a long story short, they experience a tragedy in their life and his wife tells him that if she wants him to forgive him, he needs to go tell the President of the United States that his name is Khan and that he is not a terrorist. Rizwan takes her words seriously and sets off on his journey across the US to meet the President.

Here’s the trailer with English sub-titles:

I don’t watch many Bollywood movies but I’m glad I did watch this one. It was another moving story and it wasn’t difficult to be touched by Rizwan’s innocence. I’m sure you can find it at the rental DVD stores or if all else fails, check out Little India or Mustafa. It is currently the highest grossing Bollywood film overseas and is the fifth highest grossing Bollywood film according to worldwide gross collections.

Highly recommended! I would watch it again in a heartbeat.

2 thoughts on “miss ene watches 2 awesome films!

  1. Cute kid!

    My Name Is Khan looks like a real tearjerker. Have you watched The 3 Idiots? Also a Bollywood film. I think it’s a must-watch for educators especially. My dad loved it so much that he held a special Friday night screening for his department in the office. The staff were shedding tears over their pizza!

Leave a Reply

