food glorious food

miss ene eats: twelve cupcakes

I finally got the opportunity to try twelve cupcakes which is famously opened by Jamie Teo and Daniel Ong. I’m usually skeptical of F&B businesses opened by ‘celebrities’ because honestly, how many of them last long enough for me to try it before they go kaput? Also, I can’t help but wonder if the good word of mouth that has been going around is because of (1) good PR (2) lots of publicity from their famous friends (3) clever advertising/packaging (4) all of the above.

I know, I’m cynical like that πŸ™‚

I chose to try the Rainbow Vanilla. That’s the one in the middle on the bottom row, with the rainbow sprinkles.

The verdict? I was most pleasantly surprised…and sold. The cupcake was very moist and soft. Usually, I hate cupcakes because of the crazy sweet toppings that accompany them. My cream cheese topping had a hint of lemon and best of all, it wasn’t teeth-fall-out sweetness. It had the right level of sweetness which went very well with the cupcake. These cupcakes are also smaller than the traditionally larger cupcakes but I thought it was the perfect size. At $3 a pop, it isn’t cheap but hey, I’d pay good money for good food.

I’d have to get the boy to pop by United Square over the weekend to see if we can buy more of them. Worth a try if you’re at United Square or Millenia Walk. Oh and just so you know, they’d be opening a third branch at Golden Shoe Carpark, i.e. Raffles Place. I can see them becoming a hit at office tea parties.

101 Thomson Road
#B1-60 United Square

9 Raffles Boulevard
#01-52 Millenia WalkΒ 

One thought on “miss ene eats: twelve cupcakes

  1. My sis paid $17 for a box of 6! I thought they were tiny for $3 a pop. Too much packaging for too little to taste, I feel. I gotta pass you my mum’s cupcakes to try. I don’t think I’m being biased – but hers give a bigger bang for you buck ($1.20 each if she sells ’em!)

Leave a Reply

