rants · thoughts

Smoke gets in your eyes

I am a non-smoker and never did smoke. One reason for me never picking up smoking is because my nose runs and my eyes water whenever I come into contact with cigarette smoke. How to smoke like that?! The interesting fact is, my dad used to work for a large tobacco MNC and for the 30 odd years that he worked there, he never did pick up the bad habit. Amazing eh?

I am glad to say that I do not have close friends who smoke so I’m in a smoke-free environment most of the time. However, this can’t be said for public areas, i.e. the coffee shops. Yes, there are designated smoking areas within the yellow box but if you are sitting at a non-smoking area close by, there is, without a doubt, a very high chance that you’d get stale cigarette smoke blown in your direction. And of course, Murphy’s Law would also state that the wind direction would aid those damn smoke and bring them right into your face. That really irks me because as much as the smokers have a right to smoke, I have the same right to having a smoke-free meal, yes?

Also, don’t get me started on smokers who choose to smoke and walk along a busy pavement filled with people. I have lost count of the number of times where I’ve had the misfortune of walking right behind said smoker and had to inhale all that second hand smoke.

Image

I am sure that there are lots of considerate smokers out there but obviously, the inconsiderate ones will be the ones who stand out and irritate me. Another pet peeve? When smokers don’t stub out their cigarettes properly on the waste bins. Yes, they throw it at the waste bin but DO NOT STUB IT OUT?!!! What you  get is a lighted cigarette spewing cancer-causing smoke into the air while everyone walks by looking annoyed. RAH!

Anyway.

The whole point of this entry is not simply a smoking rant. It is a call to action! *thumps chest*

To everyone reading this blog, if you feel the same as me, please, I urge you, to complete this e-poll. It is a NEA-driven initiative and for more details, you can read about it here. To be honest, I do not know how much of our opinion matters but at the very least, we have a chance to say something! The e-poll doesn’t take more than 5 minutes.

PS. I am not affiliated or linked to this project in anyway. I am just a Singaporean non-smoker who is tired of inhaling second-hand smoke. Humph.

4 thoughts on “Smoke gets in your eyes

  1. excellent survey….I just filled it in. Second hand smoke makes me so mad. I used to have a friend that smoked in front of me and for quite a long time I just endured till one day I had enough and decided not to be polite anymore. It was not worth it. I finally realized how selfish the act was.

Leave a Reply

