food glorious food

miss ene eats: Guan Hoe Soon (Peranakan)

During term time, our lunches are usually taken at our desk (termed “al desko“)or hurriedly at the canteen. Hence, when the school holidays roll around, we are just dying to lunch outside of school!

Today, we headed to Guan Hoe Soon located at Joo Chiat Place. This restaurant came with high recommendations from my colleague who is Peranakan. If a Peranakan says that it’s good, it has to be good, right?

There were 7 of us and we left the ordering to my colleague. Our lunch menu included (clockwise from top-left):

  • Nonya chap chye
  • Ngoh hiang
  • Udang Assam Pedas
  • Otak Otak
  • Ayam Buah Keluak
  • Bak-Wan Kerpiting Soup (not in picture)

This wasn’t my first time to the restaurant, with my first being my aunt’s birthday celebration a while back. Didn’t have much memory of the food then because there was too many things going on (large crowd, making conversation with relatives, etc).

Today’s lunch reminded me again that the food is sedap (delicious)! I especially liked the gravy from the Udang Assam Pedas – I spooned it all over my white rice, along with gravy from the Ayam Buah Keluak. YUMS. The ngoh hiang was good too – I ate it soaked it in sweet sauce. Heh. And the bak-wan kerpiting soup (don’t ask me what it is except that it’s some sort of mince pork ball soup) was flavourful and delicious. I believe I drank three small bowls.

Even though we were stuffed, I had to order the chendol for dessert. Besides, there’s always room for dessert, right?

Clockwise from main picture: (My) chendol, Pulut Hitam, Bobo Chacha. Does anyone know why it’s called Bo-bo Cha-cha? Such a cute name. And for the record, I polished off my entire bowl of chendol on my own. It had the right amount of sweetness (from the gula melaka) and fresh coconut milk. Yums again…

However, I have to add that the meal wasn’t cheap. There were 7 of us and the bill came up to $27 per person. I also just found out that the soup cost a whopping $28 (!!). I know the soup contained fish maw but still, $28 for a bowl of soup?! Wow. Each dish averaged about $14 so you do the Maths. Oh and that piece of otak costs $8. It was good though, with fish pieces clearly visible.

If you’re craving Peranakan food and happen to be in the East, go check out Guan Hoe Soon! Oh and bring enough money. Heh.

Guan Hoe Soon
38/40 Joo Chiat Place
Opening hours: 11.00am to 3.00pm, 6.00pm to 9.30pm

2 thoughts on “miss ene eats: Guan Hoe Soon (Peranakan)

  1. Mmmm, sounds yummy. I love chendol too. I’ve another place to recommend – Peramakan at Keppel Club. It’s open to public. I’m not sure how prices compare to Guan Hoe Soon but I get a 10% discount, so we can head there when you’re in the mood for your next Peranakan meal 🙂

    1. Ooh, I’ve heard of Peramakan but never been there. Yes, we should try it one day but it’s a lil’ out of the way eh? GSH was pretty expensive with the bill coming up to $27 per pax. Wow.

Leave a Reply

