food glorious food

miss ene eats: Heng Gi Goose and Duck Rice

I’m not a big fan of duck. It wouldn’t be something I’d choose to eat, given a choice. However, we recently stumbled upon this stall at Tekka Food Centre called Heng Gi Goose & Duck Rice.


[Image from here]

Thankfully, we’ve never had to queue whenever we were there. The boy tried it once and I stole some pieces from him and I was SOLD. The duck slices were tender and the black sauce was mad fragrant. It’s been a long time since I’ve had such good braised duck!

And did I mention the chilli? It’s piquant and adds an extra ‘oomph’ when you dip the duck slices into it. Mmmmm….My favourite bit of the meal is soaking the egg yolk with the dark sauce and eating it with a mouthful of rice. Mmmmmmmm again….

Just blogging about it makes my mouth water! And I’m not even a fan of duck!

Heng Gi Goose & Duck Rice
Blk 665 Buffalo Road
#01-335 Tekka Food Centre

Opening hours: 8.30am – 2.30pm (closed on Mondays) 

4 thoughts on “miss ene eats: Heng Gi Goose and Duck Rice

  1. Next time u there and if u are early enough, try ordering some duck intestine..rocks!!! Dun think u can find it anywhere else…and do try the fish soup a few stalls down the row…the soup is amazing

    1. Oooh I’d tell that to the boy – I don’t eat innards! Thanks for the fish soup tip. I’m always trying to find soupy stuff at the market but haven’t tried any good ones.

Leave a Reply

