food glorious food

miss ene eats: Shin Kushiya

Ever since myVillage opened, we go there quite a bit for our meals. We’ve checked out Old Hong Kong for dim sum and Relish for funky burgers. We’ve walked past Shin Kushiya a couple of times but have never tried it until a couple of days ago when I suggested to mum that we check it out.

I had the (usual and boring) set lunch of a salmon teriyaki set while mum had a california handroll and a mixed tempura set. I also ordered a side of steak tofu to share.

It was lunch hour and it was pretty empty. I wonder how they’re going to survive…Anyway, the tofu steak reminded me of agedashi tofu with a similar type of coating but it was pretty decent. The fried garlic bits sprinkled at the top gave it extra crunch. Mum remarked that her tempura wasn’t very good and that the prawns weren’t very fresh. She quipped that tempura at Sushi Tei was much better and fresher.

My salmon teriyaki set took a while to arrive but I guess that’s because they had to grill the fish. Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed. The fish was overcooked so my salmon was dry and tough. The skin was overgrilled as well. It was almost as if the chef decided that he/she had to cook it thoroughly to the point of draining all possible juices out of the (poor) fish. Sigh.

It was my first time at Shin Kushiya and perhaps we didn’t order the ‘correct’ items since I’ve always known them to be a yakitori place. However, after this experience, it will take a lot before I’d consider heading back since Sushi Tei is round the corner at Serangoon Gardens.

Shin Kushiya
myVillage Serangoon Garden
Level 2  
1 Maju Avenue
Singapore 556679

9 thoughts on “miss ene eats: Shin Kushiya

    1. Haha. Yes, it was pretty expensive. Forgot to add that our simple meal came up to $53 and mind you, my ‘set lunch’ was already considered ‘cheap’.

  1. Hmmm, how come new malls are springing up everywhere except in the eastern part of Singapore ?

    Time to step out from my comfort zone in the East and check out Nex & myVillage @ Serangoon and Icon Village @ Tanjong Pagar.

    1. The boy just told me that there’d be a new mall coming up in Bedok Central with an integrated bus interchange. Now you know! Yes, you should come check out nex and myVillage but word of caution: Come on a weekday 🙂

  2. Actually… my friend owns Shin Kushiya… lalala *twiddle thumbs* I forwarded him the link to this post. I’m sure he’ll appreciate the honest review. We often give him and his partners our feedback too. We normally eat at the Vivo outlet, which is usually pretty good in terms of food and service. The kushiyaki is really yummy though. Dan and I are pros at what to order – we should go together some day!

    1. Ah yes. I do remember you mentioning that you guys go to the one at Vivocity quite often. Thanks for forwarding on the link! Yes, we should go together sometime and we’d leave the ordering to Dan.

Leave a Reply

