food glorious food

miss ene eats: Skinny Pizza is really quite skinny!

Met up with my 2 girlfriends last week for dinner and we met up at Raffles City. I haven’t been there for a while and to my joy, realised that they’ve turned Basement 1 into a bustling hub for F&B. Yeay! With the wide array of food to choose from, we were a little spoilt for choice so we narrowed it dow by deciding what we did NOT want. In the end, we settled for Skinny Pizza since none of us have tried it before.

Skinny Pizza, as the name suggests, is one skinny pizza. The usual pizza base is extremely thin and crispy, making it almost papadum-like than pizza dough. Between the 3 of us, we shared two pizzas, the English Breakfast and Spaghetti Bolognese. I was curious how the well-loved breakfast and favourite tomato-based pasta was going to be transformed into a pizzas.

The pizzas arrived on a round iron-cast black pan and it smelt really good. Check out the semi-watery egg yolk on the English Breakfast and the luscious pieces of mozarella cheese atop the Spaghetti Bolognese. Mmmmmm……

The verdict? I loved them both! I’m not a fan of thick doughy pizzas so this was right up my alley. The base was extremely thin which made eating it a pretty messy affair so you’ve been warned – don’t try this place on the first date 🙂 In fact, I liked it enough to take the boy back to the same place over the weekend. He likes his pizzas and thought he’d like it too. We ordered the spaghetti bolognese (again!!) and the ‘double mini-burgers with sweet potato fries & shoe-string fries perfumed with truffle oil’.

Did I mention that each pizza comes with its own pizza cutter?

And here are the mini burgers, complete with the sweet potato fries and truffle-perfumed fries in the background:

Yes, the burger bun was slightly charred. Alamak. They were also a little heavy-handed with the salt on the fries so that was not very good. I did enjoy the sweet potato fries though as it was a mix of sweet and salty. Yums.

I read on Four Square that service is terrible but on both occasions, service was pretty good! On my first visit, I ordered a glass of orange juice and it never came but besides that, everything was good. My warm water was topped up constantly (even though it wasn’t quite warm per se) and requests for sauces were attended to promptly. Thumbs up!

Skinny Pizza
252 North Bridge Road

#B1-63/64 Raffles City Shopping Centre
Tel: 6333 5069

Opening hours: 11am-10pm (daily)

4 thoughts on “miss ene eats: Skinny Pizza is really quite skinny!

  1. Hey, I’ve been meaning to try Skinny Pizza but haven’t gotten down to doing it. Maybe it’s because I actually do kinda like pizza dough and bready crusts! Noticed your recent entries featured “breakfast” foods – the pizza, the Relish burger and the Pullman Bakery bun! 🙂 Maybe you can add the English Breakfast crepe from Canale to your list – also at Raffles City B1!

  2. Now that you’ve mentioned, my recent entries on food are rather ‘breakfast-ish’ eh? Heh. I haven’t tried English Breakfast crepe from Canele though. Shall try it the next time I’m there!

  3. i’ve only been to skinny pizza once but it was good enough that i want to head back soon. i must agree that it’s not a good place to bring a first date though; eating pizza, especially those with extra toppings, can be a messy affair! imagine, eating crabs on a first date lol!

    1. Yes, same here! I was there with my gfs, then brought the boy back again. Re the first date, actually, if the guy can handle the girl with a messy mouth, he’s for keeps! LOL.

Leave a Reply

