funnies · me myself and i · moments

miss ene is a trend setter

I have a story to share and this may make you laugh uncontrollably for a bit so do be warned!

So last Thursday, I had an appointment at the doctor’s. As usual, the waiting room was pretty filled and most of the seats were taken. There was a singular seat right opposite the main waiting area so I decided that I’d sit there. I’d be facing the entire crowd of people but it was an empty seat and a seat is better than none. Took out my phone to fiddle around with it because I was expecting to wait for a bit anyway.

I got bored after a while and decided to take a peek at my feet. This was when I froze in horror and shock. I took a double take because I couldn’t believe what was happening. I gulped and looked at my feet again. And this is what I saw:

(let me remind you once again that I was facing a crowd of bored people waiting to see the doc)

HOW IN THE WORLD DID THIS HAPPEN??!!!!

I was, to say the least, mortified. It also dawned on me why people were smiling at me and there I was, thinking that everyone was so lovely and friendly! Of course, to make things 1000x worst, I was facing a bored crowd. I am positive everyone was throwing me furtive glances, wondering who this nutcase was. My mind went blank for a split second and then a million thoughts flooded in.

Should I remove my shoes and walk around barefoot?
Wouldn’t walking barefoot draw more attention to myself?
Should I remove one shoe? That would be weird, wouldn’t it?
Should I just pretend that I did it on purpose, and that it’s the latest Spring fashion runway look?

As I sat there frozen, I instinctively crossed my right foot behind my left. Not like no one’s going to notice but I was hoping that it wouldn’t look as obvious?! Texted a couple of friends who suggested that I hold my head high and pretend that it’s the latest fashion trend. After a while, I actually found the whole situation quite funny which got me into a giggling fit.

So there I was, wearing mismatched shoes and laughing to myself. I’m positive that everyone in the room was a tad concerned for their well-being. You never know what a mad woman can do…

After what seemed like forever, it was my turn. I ran into the consultation room and once I was done, kept my head down and pretty much walked very very quickly to the carpark. On hindsight, perhaps I should have asked for a brown paperbag to put over my head. Thankfully, it wasn’t too far and I didn’t need to walk past huge crowds of people so that was a consolation.

Phew.

I had to make a trip home (I had to!) to switch my shoes and finally, I was normal again.

So. You must be wondering how in the world did I manage such a feat?

In my defense, I had quite a bit on my mind as I was taking time-off from work to visit the doctor. The department was having its annual retreat and I was mentally calculating how much time it would take me to complete the doctor’s visit so that I can head back to work.

As I was leaving the house, I remember taking these brown shoes out of the shoe cupboard and throwing them on the ground. I also remember looking down at my feet as I placed my right foot into the right side of the shoe. I then instinctively placed my left foot into a shoe beside it, thinking that it’d be the same brown pair. Obviously, what happened was, the left side of the brown shoe must have landed a little further away from the right side and the black pair was coincidentally sitting beside. Both are flatties so it didn’t feel any different when I walked out of the house!

Morale of the story? Always look down at your feet when wearing shoes or risk looking like a complete idiot. Or a fashion trend setter. I guess it is, afterall, a matter of relativity 🙂

20 thoughts on “miss ene is a trend setter

  1. Awwww, but you at least entertained some people! I like your shoes though! They look lovely. It’s interesting how thing happen, isn’t it? If the other pair had a different height of heels, you would’ve noticed but you wore flats like you said, that’s why you didn’t even think that you wore a pair of different shoes. Thanks for sharing the fun story!

    1. Thanks! I do love these shoes too, especially the brown ones. They’re great for work despite being flatties. Really glad I entertained you too 🙂

  2. haha! Finally! For years, I’ve waited for someone who has done the same thing as me. A few years ago, I had runners on my left foot, and tennis shoe on my right for a charity walk my previous co organised. I certainly didn’t notice that till a friend asked! I really should have given that one is slightly higher than the other!

  3. HAHA!!! Seriously this post freaked me out, I thought you discovered some weird alien sitting on your foot or something. I saw a guy on the train with mismatched slippers before, but I think that was on purpose haha. So funny!!!

    Oh hello! I’ve been reading your blog.. erm.. bye!

  4. Just caught up with this post and it’s hillarious!! Sorry don’t mean to laugh at your misfortune! But you did great gal!! I would have ran to the nearest store and try to get myself a pair of slippers.

    A similar incident happened to me once! One side of my slippers broke and I had to walk semi-barefoot to go get a new pair of footwear in busy Raffles Place.

    1. Haha, please go ahead and laugh because I think it’s hilarious too. Tee hee hee. It definitely made for a good blog entry! I was at a place where there wasn’t any shoe shops around so the best thing to do was to run (very quickly) to the car and drive home (very quickly) to change. I’ve had my shoe sole come off before as well but thankfully, had just arrived at a shopping centre with TONS of shoe shops so it was the best excuse to buy a new pair of shoes 😉

  5. LOL that’s hilarious! I can imagine the embarrassment.

    At my office, we used to have to remove our shoes at the door when we get to work. Once my colleague wore one of his own shoes and another side from another colleague and went off to a meeting. The poor guy who’s left in the office couldn’t go anywhere cuz the other mismatched side was too small to fit him. hehe.

    so yes, such incidents do happen.

    1. Wahahahaha. Your poor colleague (the one left behind). I hope he got his shoes back eventually? Did the other guy (who went off to meeting) realise his mismatched shoes?!

Leave a Reply

