food glorious food

miss ene eats: Tai Hwa bak chor mee

I love my bak chor mee (minced pork noodles). I’d always have it with ‘mee kia’ (the skinny yellow noodles) and always the dry version. The only time I’d eat the soup version (with ‘mee tai mak’) is when I’m ill. It’s my comfort food!

Tai Hwa bak chor mee is my favouritest stall. It used to be at the pre-renovated Marina Square food court. I used to work at Suntec City and my colleagues and I would run out for lunch at 11.15am (!) just to make sure that we didn’t have to queue up for our dose of bak chor mee from Tai Hwa. Any later and a long queue would magically form. Mind you, it can take up to 30 minutes to get your bowl of noodles if you’re one step late!

They have since moved to Crawford Lane or more specifically, near the Lavender MRT station and ICA. Last weekend, on a whim, I told the boy that I felt like a bowl of bak chor mee for lunch so off we went.

The moment we arrived, I hopped off from the car first to join the queue while the boy went to find a parking lot.

There were exactly 10 people in the queue in front of me. Pffffft. Judging from her body language, lady in the white blouse was obviously getting impatient. Heh.

The boy came by soon after and he took over my space in the queue while I went in search of an available table (isn’t he the sweetest). We were still in the 11th spot in the queue. Alamak!

Finally, after what seemed like endless rounds of Angry Birds on the iphone (me), the boy finally arrived with our long-awaited bak chor mee.

Usually, I eat my bak chor mee with chilli but for the past month or so, I have been on a no-chilli diet because (thanks to reading loads of websites) I realised that chilli may be aggravating some of my niggling health issues. Having no chilli in my diet is quite a tall order because I LOVE chilli. Case in point: I used to pile on an entire dollop of chilli into my laksa.

So there you go – the boy had the mee kia with chilli while I had the no chilli version. Doesn’t the chilli version look really yummy and delicious? I was a little despondent when I saw my no chilli version because it looked so bland. Pffft.

BUT! I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Most bak chor mee stalls would use ketchup as a chilli replacement but this spoils the overall taste of the noodles. I noticed that my no chilli version had more oil than the boy’s chilli version – you can just about make out the layer of oil in the picture above! The noodles were still really tasty! Perhaps it was the oil. Or the fresh ingredients used. Or the crunchy lard bits that were used liberally.

I had to stop myself from eating the pieces of lard because it was sooooo crunchy and yummy. Did you know that when I was a kid, my dad used to feed me lard because I enjoyed the crunching noises it made? Tsk tsk. So unhealthy.

If you haven’t tried the bak chor mee from Tai Hwa, you are definitely missing out. Just be prepared to queue! And remember: They do not have any branches despite the claims from other stalls!

Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles
Blk 466 Crawford Lane
#01-12 Tai Hwa Eating House

Opening hours: 9.30am – 9pm daily
(Closed on every 1st & 3rd Monday)

11 thoughts on “miss ene eats: Tai Hwa bak chor mee

  1. I’ve heard so much about the Tai Hwa Bak Chor Mee!! They have a ‘branch’ at the Ion food court, I wonder if that’s affliated with the one at Crawford Street? Any idea?

  2. tai hwa is/was quite a complicated issue. did you know that the tai hwa at lavender, tai hwa at ion and tai wah at fook hai building, their operators are all relatives? there was even a lawsuit regarding the use of ‘tai hwa’ in the stall name for the one at ion because.. .. oh well.

    anyway, the one at ion is apparently the nephew of the one at lavender. the one who used to run fook hai and the one at lavender iirc are brothers. fook hai is now passed on to the second generation, duno about lavender because i’ve never been there before.

    i have tried the one at ion before. shakes head. nothing compared to the one at fook hai. according to my SO who have eaten both fook hai and lavender, these two have slightly different styles and tastes, depends on your preference.

    awww… all the pictures making me hungry T.T

    1. Yes, I’ve actually heard about the family drama but don’t know the details. I’ve actually never eaten at the Fook Hai one (only know of the Marina Square stall). I love their noodles because of the chilli, the vinegar, the way they cook the noodles (very Q!) and of course, the very flavourful soup. Mmmm……

  3. I love the lavender one, and I’ll definitely go and eat there if I’m around Pico. But it’s really out of the way and I only go once in a blue moon. So I have to settle for the Ion version, which I find is still not too bad. I usually go for soup, and the ion one doesn’t have the strong MSG taste compared to the generic ones. But it still doesn’t beat the lavender one.

    1. Yeah, it is quite out of the way for me too which is why I never pass up a chance to eat it when I’m in the area! For me, I like my bak chor mee dry. Thanks for leaving a comment btw!

Leave a Reply

