adventures · baking · cooking

ToTT

Last week, over the Hari Raya Haji public holiday (don’t we all love public holidays?!), the boy took me to a newly-opened shop. I was running around purchasing ingredients and the such for the carrot cake and he told me that I’d like this place.

And boy, did I have a lovely time!

Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to present: Tott (Tools of The Trade) at Bukit Timah.

This place is opened by Sia Huat, the same people who sell kitchen equipment and all-things-related for the kitchen. I guess it is a natural progression for the company to go down the consumer goods route!

It is located in the same building as the BMW showroom so if you know where that is, you should be able to find it. The moment we turned into the carpark, I got really excited. Woohoo!

This huge display greeted us the moment we walked through the glass door:

Which led to the boy asking in amazement: Do they cook humans in those pots?

Heh.

Walking further into the store, I was completely mesmerised.

Just look at the number of things they have on sale! Rows upon rows of stuff you use in the kitchen with a whole range of colours, size, type, etc.

My eyes didn’t know where to look. Everywhere you turned, there was something exciting, at least to me. Need a bowl? Here, we have them in 200 designs. Need a knife? We have them in 150 different sizes in 250 colours.

Ok, I made up those numbers but I think  you get the point.

There were also a couple of products that I haven’t seen before, i.e. the range of Jamie Oliver products. From measuring spoons to serving plates, Mr Oliver has put his face to ’em all. If I remember correctly, that ice-cream scoop you see above cost like $35 or something.

Gulp.

There’s even a section selling chefs’ uniforms and hats!

I’ve always liked the western chef uniform in black but I decided I won’t exactly have a use for it since it’s usually hot like hell in the kitche. Heck, I don’t even put on an apron (even though I have one hanging in the kitchen) because it’s sooo hot.

I was like a kid in a candy store and was prodding at everything in the shop. And yes, of course I had to buy something. In fact, I ended up spending about $100 on randon bits and bobs. Tee hee hee.

I can’t wait to visit it again.

Side note to Domestic Goddess and Domestic Pixie: We have to check out this place when you girls are back ok?

4 thoughts on “ToTT

  1. YES! My toes were tinkling when reading this entry!!! It’s pretty near where I live too, so muahahahaha, I can visit this place often when I’m back!!

    Btw, I think your husband is right, those pots are rather suspicious-looking….

  2. I want to go I want to go I want to go !

    I have been wanting to visit ToTT but haven’t got down to do so coz it’s quite out of the way from where I stay in the east. Now, I must make an effort. Can’t wait !

    BTW, did you visit the Bistro ? Was the food good ? Reckon I’ll spend hours browsing, so I need food. Heh.

Leave a Reply

