adventures · movies · us

Our Saturday date

Last Saturday afternoon, the boy and I went on a date.

Well, our date didn’t just comprise of us. There were about 100 other couples in the cinema hall as well. Heh. Yi Lin and Dannie were part of the panelists during the afternoon program and she kindly extended an invitation to the boy and I. Included in the afternoon was a movie (along with popcorn and Coke!) called “Life As We Know It” starring Katherine Heigl and the very hot and yummy Josh Duhamel aka the husband of Fergie from the Black-Eyed Peas. I stumbled upon this wedding picture of the good-looking couple and just had to share it here:

Awwwww.

Anyway, back to our afternoon.

It was also the first time I’m meeting Yi Lin and she turned out to be just the way she sounds on her blog – bubbly, friendly and full of life! It was really lovely to finally meet her in the flesh. We were ushered into one of the cinema halls where the afternoon kicked off with a panel discussion comprising of Yi Lin, Dannie, Kenny Toh and my childhood crush Edmund Chen (ι™ˆδΉ‹θ΄’). I had no idea he was going to be there so it was a nice surprise.

Yes, it was pretty much pitch-black in the cinema so there aren’t too many photos. Can you make out who’s who in the picture? No? Never mind. Following the panel discussion was a short talk by Mr Kenny Toh on ‘The Pursuit of Parentyhood’. As you can tell from the title, he was sharing parenting tips and the joy of parenthood πŸ™‚

I have to add that the entire proceedings were hosted by a chinese lady emcee who couldn’t pronounce the letter “v”. She constantly said ‘Nowember’ instead of ‘November’ and ‘ewents’ instead of ‘events’. Aiyoooo. It was, to say the least, really grating. But what took the cake was how she pronounced ‘children’ as ‘chewren‘.

RAH!

It was soooooo grating! And to top it all off, she’d end her sentences like a DJ, dragging out the last syllable to emphasise it. Ok, I can’t translate it into words so you’d have to take my word for it that it was grating with a capital G. Where do event companies find such ‘professional’ emcees anyway?! Aiyo.

There was a short break after the 2 talks before the movie commenced and I took the chance to snap a picture with Mr Chen!

We also chatted for a bit and he came across as really down-to-earth and charming. Almost like an old friend that you haven’t met up in a while. I also told him how my sister and I stalked watched him when he was filming ‘Patrol’ with his wife, Xiang Yun near my old house yonks ago. Can you believe that this guy is a father to a 19 year old teenager?

Amazing.

After collecting our popcorn and 2 cans of Coke, we settled down to watch the movie. I didn’t have much expectations for it but it turned out more enjoyable than I thought it would be. Go catch it! Just be warned that your partner may not be as enthusiastic as you’d be. Hehe.

Thanks again for the invitation Yi Lin and Dan! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Our Saturday date

  1. You’re most welcome! Glad you enjoyed yourselves… and Edmund. It was great finally meeting you too! I didn’t know Josh Duhamel was Fergie’s husband!! He even had my guy friends going on and on and on about how MAN he was, like the perfect epitome of MAN.

  2. Saw Edmund Chen, Xiang Yun & their kids at Cold Storage Kallang Leisure Park 2 weekends ago. A very down-to-earth family doing their grocery rounds. They were very friendly especially Xiang Yun who nodded and smiled at me when we had a brief eye contact. Edmund as usual, was charming with his rosy cheeks πŸ™‚

  3. Yi Lin – Now you know! I’m not sure why I have such useless information stored in my head but there you go.

    Rachel – Me too!

    Dragonsis – Really? I don’t remember Xiang Yun to be very friendly but perhaps being with her hubby for so many years has influenced her to be more friendly.

Leave a Reply

