around the house · moments

Happy 45th!

Happy 45th birthday Singapore!

Altogether now:

We are Singapore
We are Singapore
We will stand together hear the lion roar…..

And my favourite bit of the parade, where Kit Chan sang “Home“. Still the best national song, in my opinion. Gives me goosebumps everytime I hear it.

This is home truly, where I know I must be
Where my dreams wait for me, where that river always flows
This is home surely, as my senses tell me
This is where I won’t be alone, for this is where I know it’s home

And here’s a well-written blog entry from one of my favourite bloggers titled, simply, I love Singapore. She has managed to succinctly put into words what I am unable to say.

By the way, did I mention that everytime I return from an overseas trip and the plane is about land, I love looking out the window and look at the bright lights below me (ok, for some reason, I tend to take night flights  home!). My favourite moment happens when the flight crew announces: Welcome to Singapore. The local time now is…..

For some strange reason, I’d feel a nice calm in my heart and know that “Woohoo! I’m home!”

3 thoughts on “Happy 45th!

Leave a Reply

