adventures · travels

Jari Menari – Bali’s Best Massage

…or so they claim on the big signboard outside the shop.

I tried to make a massage reservation via email and both slots that I wanted was full. Can you believe it? In the end, we walked over to the shop and made a booking on the spot for a session the next day. We both had the “Perfect Massage” (90 minutes). Did I mention that most of the masseuses were male? However, it was all very proper and above board. I did not feel “violated” at any point of the massage 🙂

We were ushered to the changing rooms/toilets and I must say it was all very professional looking, similar to spas in Singapore.


The changing area – that’s my bag in the foreground.


The shower stalls.


The lockers for our personal belongings. And yes, that’s the slipper I was to wear to walk about the spa.

Once we were ready, we were shown to a couple’s room where there were 2 massage beds. It was a nice and tranquil environment, typical spa stuff. At the start of the massage, the masseuse hit a little “gong” that created a nice “boingggggg” sound. I think it was supposed to be calming and zen-like. Heh.

Anyway, the massage was THE BEST I’VE HAD IN BALI! The masseuse was really well-trained and I understood why they call Jari Menari “dancing fingers”. The fingers on my back felt like they were doing a gentle dance across my back. They also knew the right points to hit and I must say my shoulders felt sooooo relaxed after. Usually, my shoulders are in a crazy knot but I’ve never felt more relaxed after a massage.

Post-massage activities included a shower in the changing room but I’d like to draw your attention to the shampoo, condition and shower gel used. All natural stuff!

And they smelt really divine. I was soooo tempted to buy a couple of bottles back but alas, we were on a carry-on luggage only airfare. Sighs. They weren’t particularly cheap as well so I guess that was another deterrent.

We both walked out of Jari Menari smelling really lovely and feeling relaxed. It was most wonderful! The massage at Jari Menari is expensive – we paid about S$80 (can’t quite remember the actual cost now) for the 90 minute massage which is considered pretty expensive in Bali but I’d be back in a heartbeat if we find ourselves in Bali again.

Jari Menari
Jl Raya Basangkasa #17
Seminyak, Bali
Tel: (+62  361)  736 740
Email:
jarimenari@jarimenari.com
Open daily, 9am-9pm

Leave a Reply

