baking

Carrot cake (the angmo type)

Everytime I say I want to try and make carrot cake, people will ask if I’m making chai tao kway. Heh. Technically, carrot cake is also chai tao kway except that it’s the ‘English’ type.

A friend also shared that she made carrot cake successfully so I asked for her recipe. On top of that, I went and google carrot cake recipes and bought the necessary ingredients.

Finally, after about a week of procastinating because I wasn’t confident of it being successful, I finally took the plunge and attempt it on Sunday. I use this recipe for my carrot cake because it has measurements in grams. I also used a larger baking tray and for the frosting, used caster sugar instead of icing sugar (because I don’t have any and I don’t want to buy yet another type of sugar – no space at home!).

Oh and did I mention that I don’t actually like carrot cake? I don’t even eat it! However, it’s the boy’s favourite cake 🙂 I have to add that he did the hard work of grating the carrots and I’m glad he did because it took a lot of effort! Heh.

After about 40 minutes in the oven, it came out looking pretty decent.

It was pretty flat though (the boy called it the world’s flattest carrot cake) but he had a brain wave and that is to stack it up with a layer of frosting in-between the layers.

It looked good and smelt good. But would it taste good?

After the boy took a bite, he answered in the affirmative. Woohoo! “Better than some of the carrot cakes I’ve eaten outside lor“, he quipped.

And that, to me, is the best compliment one can give. I’d have to learn how to make these cute marzipan carrots the next time 🙂


Image from www.joyofbaking.com

However, I have to confess that I misjudged the sugar quantity for the frosting. It says “2 cups” on the recipe which works out to be 230grams. I somehow (mis)calculated it as 400 grams so erm, yes, the frosting was a tad sweet.

Heh.

Will go easy on the sugar the next time!

2 thoughts on “Carrot cake (the angmo type)

Leave a Reply

