baking

Basic Butter Cake baking class!

A couple of weeks ago, I attended a basic butter cake baking class with 2 of my colleagues. It was conducted by Evonne Lee, an avid home-baker who is actually a friend of my colleague. She lives at Ang Mo Kio so it was nice and convenient for me. In fact, I was the first to arrive! There was a table set up nicely with 6 places ready.

baking3

She first took us through the ingredients because ‘good ingedients make good cake’. She’s tried many different types of butter – check it out!

baking11

And Evonne concluded that ‘President’s unsalted butter is the best for butter cake:

baking4

It’s also one of the most expensive! Ooooh. She also showed us the best types of eggs to use, which are ‘kampong’ eggs from the market. Look, they are white in colour as opposed to the usual brown ones we see at supermarkets:

baking5

Alternatively, you can use these from NTUC:

baking12

She also introduced us to the different types of sugar and how each type of sugar affects the outcome:

baking6

After the introduction to ingredients, we got down to baking. Yeay! We worked in pairs and here, you see Miss L and her partner Mr KB:

baking1

After putting in all the ingredients according to the step, we had to beat the ingredients by hand. Thankfully, I have a mixer at home so that cuts down on a lot of effort (and tired arms!):

baking2

Beat till creamy:

baking7

If you notice, the beat used is different from the usual round-edged type. This is apparently better because it’s much easier to clean. I can’t remember what it’s called but Phoon Huat sells it for about $8.

Add in the eggs and mix well:

baking8

Ta-dah! The final mixture, ready to be baked:

baking9

We sat around eating a butter cake that Evonne baked beforehand and it was nicely moist and delicious.

Halfway through, she took the cakes out to check:

baking10

Look! They have all risen rather nicely. Woohoo!

Finally, all the cakes are ready. Check them out:

baking13

baking14

The one circled in yellow belong to me! In fact, Evonne said that my cake was the best because it rose nicely and had a nice shade of brown. Woohoo again!

baking15

Miss L was decorating her cake and I decided to add some flowers to mine as well. Looks like a cake prepared for National Day, don’t you think? Heh.

baking16

Here’s my cake cooling on the wire rack. By the way, it is important to use baking paper so that it is much easier to remove the cake from the tin.’

Finally, it was ready to be sliced:

baking17

It was very good too! I brought home the rest of the cake for the boy to try and he said that it was good too because it was moist. I took some slices for my family to try that evening (was meeting them for dinner) and they thought that it was too moist!

Ha.

I tried my hand at baking again with the same recipe the next day and this time I used my mixer:

P1030499

P1030500

I do not use a conventional oven but a convection oven so had to tweak the timing slightly. This is how my cake turned out (one portion yields 2 portions):

P1030501

A close-up:

P1030503

If you compare this with the one I baked at the class, it is slightly dryer. The taste was ok though. Strangely, my family enjoyed my version of the cake because they didn’t like it too moist. Ha. My mum even asked me for the receipe. Tee hee hee.

This is definitely an easy recipe to follow and I see myself making it quite often. Then again, it’s definitely not a good cake for the waistline! 😀

Leave a Reply

