Coca cola chicken wings

While surfing NoobCook’s website today, I stumbled upon her Coca Cola chicken wings recipe. It looked easy enough so on a whim, decided that I’d add it to tonight’s dinner since I have everything I need in the fridge, save for chicken wings which I picked up at Cold Storage on my way home.

I followed the recipe to the T and here’s a in-progress photo of how the wings look like while simmering…

I wasn’t too sure if it’d look like the ones on NoobCook‘s website especially when the water wasn’t disappearing fast enough! The recipe called for ‘simmering’ so I thought that I had to turn the fire down. Turns out that it made the water evaporate reeeeeeally slowly so I turned it back up again.

Finally, after what seemed like forever, most of the water evaporated, leaving behind a sticky and thick syrup, just like what the recipe said. Yeay!

And here’s the outcome:

Looks pretty good, doesn’t it? And it didn’t disappoint. The meat was fall-off-the-bones and the taste was just right with the correct amount of salty and sweet. YUMS! I was amazed at how something so simple could turn out so delicious. It also occured to me (as I was biting into my 4th wing) that there must be a lot of sugar in Coke for it to be so tasty. Shudder. It’s really quite an easy peasy recipe for weekday dinners – just remember to allow for enough time for the water to evaporate!

You can check out NoobCook for the recipe! I didn’t notice the cooking note that included garlic. Will try that the next time.

Together with thai basil minced pork and 2 sunny-side ups, it was our dinner for two on a Monday evening. Burp.

Leave a Reply

